Chocolate Glaze II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
had to add more milk just to get the icing to even be paste-like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Great tasting and low fat! Directions were a little unclear... I cooked over double boiler until smooth and runny. I used it over an angel food cake (no fat) and it wasn't too heavy. Dried hard and not dull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Very good, I used this to glaze a bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I found this to just be okay. I think it would be better with a bit more cocoa in it? It seemed a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Needs just a tablespoon more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This gave me a good start. I used only 1 cup of confectioners sugar, and I mixed over low heat until smooth. I didn't bother with the vanilla, or with the sifting. (Varitions try adding a little Kahlua instead of milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This stuff is great, a perfect topper for a chocolate bundt cake! As another reviewer mentioned, an extra tablespoon of butter made it even better. But the best thing about this is that no cooking is required! (Because it's not cooked, by the way, real vanilla extract is better than imitation in this recipe--not so chemical-tasting.) For those of you who found it a bit stiff, it may be that the butter wasn't quite soft enough. A few seconds on low in the microwave should fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I followed the recipe to a tee and I got an out of this world Chocolate FROSTING, not glaze. I put in on a bundt cake and it looks and tastes marvelous. But beware- it is not a glaze. It is spreadable but not drizzleable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
lytha is right that the chocolate flavour isn't really there so u need to add more cocoa and sugar. but besides that, i thought it turned out ok. i used applesauce instead of butter to make it healthier, and it still ok but i don't know how chocolate lovers would feel about that. anyway, i used this glaze to cover a chocolate banana cake and it suited it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This was an ok recipe but not what you would call a glaze...i had to add more milk and heat like 10 seconds in microwave in order to get to a drizzle consitency but other than that it was ok..not bad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States