Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made a variation of this recipe. I used Jack Daniel's instead of rum, to try to complement the chocolate. I also used dark chocolate as opposed to bittersweet chocolate. I turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suew1127
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a great, simple recipe. I used bittersweet chocolate, no liquor and used to frost cupcakes. I was unsure if the chocolate would be too bitter, but I had cream filled cupcakes so it offset it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was my first ganache and it was super easy. I used Ghiradelli bittersweet chips. It made a very dark chocolatey ganache which my husband loved. Personally I prefer milk chocolate so I might try this with milk chocolate chips next time, or at least half milk chocolate. It poured nicely over my cake and looked beautiful. I reserved about a half cup of it to whip into "frosting." After taking it out of the fridge it was very stiff. I had to nuke it in the microwave for 30 sec. on 50% power to make it soft enough to whip. Then I tried to pipe it onto my ganache covered cake, little blobs to press fresh strawberries onto. Unfortunately the whipped ganache was a little too stiff to pipe. This was likely my fault somehow. It still worked, but it wasn't quite the right consistency. Fortunately the strawberries covered it up well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was pretty good- the store didn't have any more bittersweet, so I had to use 2 ounces bittersweet and 6 ounces semisweet. It still wasn't very sweet AT ALL, so in the future I'm going to use all semisweet. I didn't use the rum, however, so I'm sure that really affected the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very easy and very good. I heated the cream and then added the chocolate to the cream in the pan as instructed by another recipe. Just pour chocolate into cream, shake the pan to cover chocolate and stir after a minute or two. I also added 1-2 tablespoons of butter for the shine it gives. I did not add the rum, but would certainly consider it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I didn't follow the directions entirely, which is why it became a kitchen fixer-upper, but in the end it worked out. I figured I would share my experience. In the event that you buy the POWDERED bittersweet cocoa because it is more economical on the wallet, just remember powder doesn't melt like bar chocolate. But do not fear, all is not lost! Just add 2 cups of heavy cream, a small can of sweetened condensed milk (really helps to sweeten it up), and a few splashes of low-fat milk (whatever you have on hand) and stir it up with a spoon over low heat until the heaping glob of chocolate thins out. The benefit is the chocolate will harden and has a glossy look to it, so it makes it ideal for chocolate dipped cookies. It works out well when you get past the initial panic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Soooo easy. And super yummy. I was worried after whisking it that it was going to look grainy or bumpy when I poured it on, but after I let it "set" in the fridge it became smooth and just right for pouring on my Shadow Cake (choc cake with fluffy white icing and chocolate ganache poured over it). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This comes out perfect every time! Quick and simple to make. I would put it on bacon if I could get by with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is really a super-easy, fail-proof and practical 5-star recipe that guarantees no chocolate seizure, no-lumps, no wastage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States