Chocolate Ganache Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and cooked in a saucepan over low heat. I then cooled the icing in the refrigerator for about 30 min until it was thicker and spread it on vanilla cupcakes (from a mix) like a regular icing. It offset the very sweet cupcake nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Excellent consistency. I do not like bittersweet chocolate so I used semisweet because my husband likes the semi. Not a fan of semisweet either. It was ok for me but he loved it. Next time I'm going to use Milk Chocolate for a sweeter flavor. I did not use the liquor as I do not like that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
How wicked is this!! melted chocolate in microwave, then added butter and cream last. Used freshly brewed coffee with teaspoon of sugar to balance the bitterness instead of alcohol. I bought dark chocolate with 70% coco content. Very easy to do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I didn't change a thing, and this icing was perfect, and so shiny and pretty on my brownie shortcakes, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
this is my favorite icing ever! you can use it on so many things! it went incredibly well on jan's chocolate cake. i used amaretto instead of brandy, which turned out delicious, and you can pretty much substitute any licquor. highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
The flavor was great, and it took me only 1 min. to make this in the microwave. It has a beautiful shine also. I did not use any alcohol, but I'm sure it would be tasty! LOVE THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
If you are a fan of dark chocolate, this icing is heavenly! I accidentally used unsweetened chocolate and added a little over a half cup of sugar to make up for it (any less and it was much too bitter). It is by no means overly sweet, very very rich and dark. I melted this all in a makeshift double boiler (oven-safe bowl floating in boiling pan of water), took a while but came out very creamy. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Delicious and easy to make. Thank you for this recipe. I used it on the Apple Cake III recipe on this site. Everyone loved it. (Added Khalua instead of Brandy, used semi-sweet chocoloate and only used half of the sugar recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was great I used it to cover a yellow cake and dipped the tops of mini cupcakes in. I omitted the brandy and did the cooking in the microwave and was shiny and beautiful in like 45 seconds. I think I might want to try and dip cookies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I found this recipe easy to follow but it is important to allow the icing to cool a little before spreading it between and on the cake otherwise it will spill all over the place. The taste was quite potent of the alcohol which was brandy in my case. After a few days the tast of the icing was better and definitely added to the cake. I was MOST pleased as well as my husband and family. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States