Chocolate Ganache Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Good recipe- I added a splash of coffee which adds a depth of flavor to the chocolate, used it with a french vanilla cake mix, and put chopped walnuts on the top. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
didn't work for me - followed the directions but ended up with a chocolate 'sauce' that ran off the cake, even after I allowed it to cool, as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was fantastic although I ended up needing a thicker frosting because my cake broke so I let it cool a bit and beat in a package of cream cheese and 3/4 cup powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Any kind of liqueur works in this recipe. I prefer Kahlua. Rich and decadent. So much better than a sweet icing sugar laden frosting. I used it to top the fabulous Black Magic Cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made a few changes, but it worked out really well in a pinch. I used 1/2 cup skim milk and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract instead of the brandy. Heated the milk, butter, and extract in the microwave, then added semi-sweet chocolate chips & let sit to melt. It took a lot of stirring to melt the chips fully, but that's because of the stabilizers in chocolate chips. Let cool until spreadable & used for a 2 layer cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great Icing!! I used it on yellow cake. Did not have brandy so I used vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeFS
Living In: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Photo by executivecatering
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum - O! I made mine with dove milk chocolates and left out the brandy. It came out really nice and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by executivecatering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I never made ganache before. This was easy to make, delicious to eat, beautiful to look at and it really impressed my friends! I also added 2 T of corn syrup in the hopes it would be shiny. It was shiny and had the perfect consistency. I topped the New York Cheesecake III with it and I will never do it another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Could this be anyhting other than incredible?????? YUM!!!!!!! and SOOOOOOO EASY......too easy ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States