Chocolate Ganache Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This stuff is too darn decadent. No wonder why I have trouble losing weight! I had no brandy, so used a little real vanilla like someone else suggested. Excellente! Adding to my list of repeats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made this with chocolate chips and no alcohol as other suggested and it was delicious! Will make again - very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I'm not a big chocolate cake fan but my coworker loves chocolate cake so I decided to try out this recipe with the chocolate ganache icing. It was a huge hit at work and I loved it!! Super moist and delicious!! I followed the recipe as written but made a bunt cake and cooked it for 40 min. Came out perfect. I also used the chocolate ganache icing recipe but used 3 tbsp of coffee instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
tasty, rich, added to the quality of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I never have confectioner's sugar on hand, so this recipe was a great find. I only had some baker's chocolate and a partial bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips so just estimated the amount of chocolate. I used the recommended amounts of cream and butter, then added some honey (instead of the corn syrup some users recommended). Didn't use the alcohol, although someone's suggestion of Kahlua sounds awesome. It came out creamy and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Super easy and perfect every time. Thank you Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I used 7oz semi sweet mini chocolate chips, 2T soften butter and microwaved 1/2C cream for 1 min on high. Pour cream over chocolate and butter mix until smooth... I have added alcohol or flavoring but just as good without... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kaiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I took the advice of adding 1.5 Tbsp of corn syrup & replacing the brandy with coffee w/1 tsp sugar. I put all ingredients(softened butter) minus the heavy cream into a bowl. I boiled the heavy cream and poured over. Let sit for a minute then stirred till well combined & then refrigerated before using for 30 min. I think if I refrigerated longer, I may have had a less viscous ganache. This seemed more of a glaze. But tasty nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made slot of changes to this. 1. Used semi sweet instead of bitter sweet. 2 added 2 tbs of corn syrup at the end so it looks nice and glossy. 3. This recipe is way to thin when followed just as directed. I had to add powdered sugar until it was thick enough to even spread. Even then it's not thick like butterflies, more like a syrup. Put it in the fridge to thicken up a but, then just pour it over the cake and let harden. I don't see how other people don't comment on how thin this is. Anyway, the flavor is great, the consistency is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I followed all the directions, but what I created was not at all what I wanted. In the end I had to completely wing it to achieve a similar effect to what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States