Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is the first time I've tried this recipe. Only problem I had is it set up too hard and it was crumbs when I cut it. I'm trying it again but doubled the recipe and it's in the fridge cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela S Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Personally, when me and my friends tried to make this recipe the whole batter got stuck to the bottom of the pan. Guess we can always try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I've been teaching myself how to make fudge lately, and I've found that it can be really tricky. If you've never made fudge before, this is not the recipe for you. Beginners should look for a recipe that contains either marshmallows, marshmallow fluff or cornsyrup. If you really want to make this recipe, you need to do your research and go through a couple botched batches of fudge to make it work. For starters, beating the fudge at the end is very important. Under or over beating will both lead to big problems in terms of how your fudge sets up. Do not stop beating until the moment the fudge starts to look less shiny, then stop immediately and pour it out. For more tips, you can check out the article "perfect fudge" on this site on the left of the screen. Hope that helps a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very disapointed. It didnt set. It was chunky, i even did the ball in the water thing and the whole thing was just a disaster. Ive made fudge before, so its not like i didnt know what I was doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Do not attempt to make this without a candy thermometer! I did the cold water test, but all I got was a grainy mess. We stirred into oatmeal to avoid wasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly as written. It set beautifully and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is just like my Grandmother used to make. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Love it! Just a quick note, don't substitute Splenda for sugar, bad things happen :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie Muller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this just as it says. all other fudge's I have made use confectioners sugar and they turn out great. I did this as told using white sugar and it will not get hard. It's been in the fridge for almost 2 hours now still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
this was my first attempt at fudge and with a candy thermometer it turned out! Helpful: a note elsewhere online indicating that for every 500 feet above sea level, reduce target temperature by 1 degree, therefore in Calgary at 3500 feet, 234 becomes 227 degrees. This worked perfectly. The fudge seems to be setting nicely with a glossy top. I have no clue as to how long this takes but am encouraged so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States