Chocolate Fudge Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Let me preface by saying that I did not follow the instructions exactly and nothing irritates me more than when someone doesn't follow the instructions and then gives a recipe a low rating. That being said, the way that I made it I would only give it a 4. I will describe my changes so you can prepare if you plan on making changes: - I wanted to make a layer cake, and I thought that with this being a pound cake, it would work perfectly. It actually was just as fluffy and light as a normal cake, not the density I was seeking. - The store that I went to only had a box of store bought Devil's Food cake mix that was the appropriate size. All of the name brand boxes were about 4 oz. smaller, I thought that might have a crucial impact on the end result. - I baked mine in 2-8 inch rounds at 350 degrees. They were done in less than 40 minutes. Overall, I would make this cake again. The taste was nice and although it wasn't the density I was looking for, it was extremely moist. I really wish that I had not frosted the cake and just dusted it with powdered sugar. I LOVE frosting but I used store bought and it really took away from the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was very good and had a very nice rich flavor, however it lacks the texture of a pound cake. My daughters called it a "brownie-cake" it had a very similar taste to brownies, however a lighter, more moist texture. It did rise more than I anticipated, and I did make some cupcakes. Next time if I make cupcakes I will fill them lower than usual as it overflowed a little and they did not rise with a mound in the center like regular cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
More like a moist, fudgy brownie than a chocolate pound cake, but who cares about the name when it tastes this good?!? I added nuts (about a cup) and it came out perfectly. I almost took some out for cupcakes since others had problems with overflowing, but now I think their bundt pans may have been too small; even with a cup of nuts added, this came out great. I would not add more than one cup of additions or even the 10 inch might overflow. Came back to get the recipe, I am going to try Lemon Supreme cake with Lemon Supreme icing. Update: The lemon came out much more like pound cake than the chocolate and was just as delicious. I replace half the oil with unsweetened applesauce when I have it, and it tastes equally as yummy and is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This cake was awesome! the only thing I did different was to substitute coffee for the water. I thought it really brought out the chocolate flavor even more! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I'm amazed that this has a 4 star rating. It's not a good recipe and this is definitely NOT a pound cake as it's titled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I love this cake, I drizzle white chocolate on the top. Makes a good show. This cake has never failed me. It is alsoways moist and wonderful. I also use the triple chocolate chip cake mix or dark chocolate cake mix and frosting when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This has got to be the best chocolate cake I've ever eaten! I used a cast iron bundt pan and baked it at 325 degrees. I drizzled the finished cake with a thinned caramel frosting. YUM! I made it for a birthday get together and I'll make it again and again! Maybe I'll experiment with other cake flavors and frostings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is such a great recipe. I did only one tweek, I used cooking spray and then dusted pan with cocoa(unsweetend) instead of flour, makes for a much cleaner looking cake out of the pan and adds a another layer of chocolate flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garnet B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bono, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I was expecting a denser (sp?) cake since it's called "pound" cake. But, it was melt in your mouth moist. Everyone at our church supper oo'ed and awed... thought we should have an altar call after the meal!!! After seeing the reviews of overflow problems I used two lasagna foil pans for one batch. Made two nice sided cakes. I tried lemon and chocolate fudge... wowzer they were good. Sprinkled with powder sugar for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appelorchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was skeptical, but this turned out great. I baked 2 8" and one 9" layer and it was moist and delicious! I did have to watch the baking times since I wasn't using a tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States