Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by anita
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe is awesome. Easy to follow and the brownie-like fudge cupcakes taste great. Only four stars though cause they don't look too exceptional and I had to tweak the recipe based on other member's comments. I used unsweetened chocolate to make sure it wasn't too sweet. Based on other comments about caving in, I made sure not to over-beat/mix the batter and added a tsp of baking soda. I will definitely use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I am giving these cupcakes only 3 stars because the tops of the cupcakes fell in 1/2 way through baking them and then a puffy ring of sugary dryness broke off from the rest of the cupcake, leaving the bottom portion fudgey (mmmmm!) but the top part crunchy (also mmmmmm)... though together the two mmmmms just didn't do it for me. I scaled the recipe to two- one for me and my man on our anniversary; and I wanted something pretty to put on the table... but in order to save these, I had to put a scoop of ice cream in the big ugly holes of them and garnish with strawberries. All in all, they tasted OK, but I would have preferred true fudginess or true fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Maybe I'm picky, but these cupcakes had a chocolate-sugar crust that was completely separate from the body of the cupcake. When I touched them, the crust broke and sank into the cupcake. The taste is good, but the presentation has something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Absolutely delicious! I made these for a Halloween party and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Rather than a cup "cake", this really is more like a cup "brownie". They are delicious, fudgy and rich, but don't expect a traditional cupcake. I used silicone baking cups instead of paper and sprayed them with PAM prior to filling them with the batter. Once cooled, I removed the "brownies" from the silicone cups and topped them with a creamy white frosting, and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe was so simple and amazing! I changed the serving size to 36 and made 24 cupcakes with it. They had a nice fudge-y consistency and were a big hit with friends and family. Also, I baked them on multi-convection at 350 degrees and they came out better than when I tried them at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
These certainly are chocolatey. So much so, that I'd say they're more brownie than cupcake. I decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup and they were still very sweet. The tops of mine did fall in before I even took them out of the oven, but they tasted good so I won't complain too much. They don't need any frosting...they're too much like brownies so they can stand on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I just don't get it! These cupcakes don't rise, in fact they collapse. It was kind of a dissapointment, as I made these for my husband's work meeting. The taste is good- like a cake like brownie. I just can't recommend them because they are unattractive and small. I made 15 cupcakes with this recipe- not 24, and they were STILL small, with large concave tops! I would have rather made brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I make these when I want to wow the chocolate lovers at work. When you top them with fudge frosting the go like hotcakes. Don't overbake as stated. I also roast the pecans before I put them in the batter. That is a good way to get added flavor in any recipe using nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balaton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
For a beginner cook, this recipe was easy and very satisfying.I made it with my 6-year old daughter and the cupcakes came out just the way we like it-fudgy inside, and crunchy on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States