Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Absolutely delicious! I made these for a Halloween party and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Maybe I'm picky, but these cupcakes had a chocolate-sugar crust that was completely separate from the body of the cupcake. When I touched them, the crust broke and sank into the cupcake. The taste is good, but the presentation has something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I am giving these cupcakes only 3 stars because the tops of the cupcakes fell in 1/2 way through baking them and then a puffy ring of sugary dryness broke off from the rest of the cupcake, leaving the bottom portion fudgey (mmmmm!) but the top part crunchy (also mmmmmm)... though together the two mmmmms just didn't do it for me. I scaled the recipe to two- one for me and my man on our anniversary; and I wanted something pretty to put on the table... but in order to save these, I had to put a scoop of ice cream in the big ugly holes of them and garnish with strawberries. All in all, they tasted OK, but I would have preferred true fudginess or true fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Gorgeous brownie-like texture. I made mine half the size, as I didn't have any cake cases, and it still worked brilliantly. The top is like ready added frosting.. A favourite with all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
These cupcakes are like brownies in a muffin cup. The texture is moist and brownie-like. I used unsweetened chocolate instead of semi-sweet and love the extra chocolately flavor. I had no problems with the tops caving in or separating. They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I just don't get it! These cupcakes don't rise, in fact they collapse. It was kind of a dissapointment, as I made these for my husband's work meeting. The taste is good- like a cake like brownie. I just can't recommend them because they are unattractive and small. I made 15 cupcakes with this recipe- not 24, and they were STILL small, with large concave tops! I would have rather made brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
These certainly are chocolatey. So much so, that I'd say they're more brownie than cupcake. I decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup and they were still very sweet. The tops of mine did fall in before I even took them out of the oven, but they tasted good so I won't complain too much. They don't need any frosting...they're too much like brownies so they can stand on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
For a beginner cook, this recipe was easy and very satisfying.I made it with my 6-year old daughter and the cupcakes came out just the way we like it-fudgy inside, and crunchy on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Yumm! The top does have a thin crunch to it and the inside was nice and moist, a good ratio though. I didn't find the top fell in at all. I didn't sift the flour and sugar, and therefor didn't get a full 24 servings and they didn't raise much, but otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I make these when I want to wow the chocolate lovers at work. When you top them with fudge frosting the go like hotcakes. Don't overbake as stated. I also roast the pecans before I put them in the batter. That is a good way to get added flavor in any recipe using nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balaton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States