Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I would use a devils food cake mixture rather than a brownie mix in the future. But the icing was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made two small changes--I used chocolate fudge cake mix in place of the brownie mix in place of the brownie mix (the reviews were mixed, I didn't want to waste ingredients since money is so tight. I apologize to those who think I radically adjusted the recipe. Sometimes, you have to go with what works.) and I used Pillsbury vanilla frosting instead of funfetti. These were easy for me to make with my two boys and they turned out really well. I have to say that I was iffy about mixing peanut butter and pre-made frosting but it works. This one's a keeper. My son says he wants this in his recipe box now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These were very good, however there are a few alterations that I would make to this recipe. First off, I think cake mix would be much better than the brownie. Filling it halfway (which you would do with cake batter cupcakes) doesn't really work. The brownies don't rise so it doesn't fill the cupcake completely. Second of all, you better like VERY rich cupcakes. The full tablespoon of chocolate chips was a bit much for our liking. I also think less peanut butter would be good too. I am planning to make these for my daughter's 2nd birthday party in February so I'm glad I have more time to do some trial runs!:) All in all, a very good recipe, just a little rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westwood, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is more like brownies and peanut butter icing. The peanut butter icing is to DIE for and I will use it in other recipes in the future for sure! I had to write again because I brought these to work and gave some for my husband to take and people went crazy for them and are already asking when I will be making more. They will never know how easy they are to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I also added an extra egg to this recipe. They didn't rise up as much as a cupcake usually dose, however they were very yummy! The icing was great, I did add more peanut butter to suit our taste. Not our favorite cupcake, but it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made these cupcakes for a birthday party and they were a big hit!! I added a little milk to the icing to make it easier to work with. Overall they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missylissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These were easy and quick to make. My sister in law and I made them when we were craving some chocolate and they satisfied that craving! We followed the advice of some of the reviewers here and added an extra egg to make the cupcakes fluffier and 1/4 a cup of milk to the batter because it was REALLY thick. The frosting was very simple and easy to make and we also added a splash of milk to the frosting to make it smoother. Next time we will probably not bake them for the full time because the first batch came out a little overcooked. The second time we put them in for about 16 and it worked perfectly! We had to beat away our guys with the spatulas to keep them from eating the frosting before we had a chance to put it on the cupcakes, it is THAT good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Ragan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this for my brother's graduation and they are TO DIE FOR. Instead of crisco I used the same amount of vegatable oil. When putting the batter in the pan be sure to put alot of chocolate chips in the middle. It makes the cupcake richer. Lastly, I put a whole reeses cup on top of the icing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Fantastic, loved by my Reeses loving friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIA76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina Baccaro-Sigman
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I just finished making these little gems after a week of contemplating them and they were EVERYTHING I'd hoped they'd be! The recipe is simple and the taste and texture remind me of the peanut butter cupcakes Starbucks serves only for a fraction of the cost! This will definitely become a family favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States