Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I substituted 1/2 T half & half for the milk, and used about 2/3C of Nutella instead of the fudge for the most amazing chocolate hazelnut buttercream EVER. Really. It's not overly sweet, just perfect. Great texture, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Excellent Frosting, very creamy. However...I omitted the fudge toppping (I did not have any on hand). It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I really was a little skeptical about trying this using the hot fudge topping as an ingredient-but I am glad I did. What a great frosting. I used heavy cream instead of milk and I used Dove-dark chocolate topping and it was so yummy. I put it on the "fabulous fudge chocolate cake" recipe from this site and WOW what a chocolate fix for a chocolate lover! I agree with another reviewer that it doesn't set up well on a hot day with high humidity-so I stuck the whole cake in the fridge after I iced it and it set up well. I took it out 20 minutes before I served it and it was great..Try and make a day or two in advance because chocolate anything tastes better a few days later when the great chocolate flavors come out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I have been searching for a chocolate frosting recipe for over 4 years now. Every recipe I have tried ends up tasting like the store bought kind. I hate the store bought kind. This recipe is wonderful! I used it on my son's birthday cake and everyone loved it (me too for once). I can't wait to try it on my deep dish brownies. I used butter shortening instead of regular, cream instead of milk, and double the vanilla - voila! The perfect chocolate frosting recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Beautiful frosting, creamy smooth and fudgey, but I would caution that it's evident this will only be as good as the fudge topping you use. This is not a deep, rich chocolate which I liked, especially for the banana cake I chose to use it on. But it's easy enough, however, to increase the cocoa powder and decrease the powdered sugar by the same amount if you wanted a deeper, darker frosting. The texture is especially excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
You absolutely must make this frosting! It is one of the most scrumptious chocolate frostings I've ever tasted in my life, and I've never been a big fan of buttercream frosting. I frosted a yellow cake with it, and everyone devoured it. Fudgy, rich, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Prepared a B-Day cake for Dad using the Hershey Chocolate Cake Recipe and this frosting. The result was excellent. The frosting had good color, was easy to make and spread easily. Guests returned for seconds and thus I had no leftovers. I made a sheet cake and there was enough frosting. If I had made a layered cake I would have doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
A very excellent chocolate buttercream frosting! I use Hershey's Hot Fudge Topping. You must use the thick fudge topping, not the chocolate syrup, in order to achieve the great frosting this recipe produces. This is now my favorite chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soda Springs, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I loved this recipe. The only changes I made was I used 2 and a 1/2 cup of confectioner sugar instead of just 2 cups and used 2 tablespoons of heavy cream instead of milk. For the hot fudge topping, I used Mrs Richardson's Chocolate Lover's Fudge straight out of the jar, not heated. I also added a pinch of salt. The frosting was perfect, not runny or thick but just right for spreading. It turned out beautifully and tasted fantastic. It is very rich which was fine with me because I love dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
I am a caterer, I used this on a chocolate pound cake to create a birthday cake for a chocoholic person. It was great. Used leftover on a light yellow cake, sold out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States