Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
I am a caterer, I used this on a chocolate pound cake to create a birthday cake for a chocoholic person. It was great. Used leftover on a light yellow cake, sold out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Excellent frosting! Very Sweet and creamy. Spreads easily. If you have a very sweet tooth and love chocolate this is the frosting for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
I made this with a cakeish type brownie recipe and everyone freaked out over it. My neighbor wouldn't even share with her kids and she normally doesn't keep anything for herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
WOW!! I normally hate frosting but this was just amazing. I'd make this without a cake--creamy and chocolately and oh-so-good. Easy to make and can be done while your cake is baking. Definitely try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
We used Hershey's hot fudge topping (and I usually prefer Smuckers) and the taste of the hot fudge was very noticeable. Needless to say, I didn't care for this recipe because of that. However, I think I might try this again with Smuckers. Also, I put in 3 tbs. of milk, and it was way too runny. So be careful with the amount of milk you put in! THe frosting was very creamy and smooth though. And it didn't dry up all hard like the Hershey's recipe for chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Awsome! I loved the combination of the fudge and the buttercream; it is rich, but it is suposed to be. My kids and I are self avowed Chocoholics and we could have eaten it all plain in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
OH MY!! This frosting was soooo good... I hate frosting but I ate this by the spoonfuls!! My only big mistake was not softening the butter before mixing and that caused it to be too lumpy, but even after that mistake it was still delectable!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
You absolutely must make this frosting! It is one of the most scrumptious chocolate frostings I've ever tasted in my life, and I've never been a big fan of buttercream frosting. I frosted a yellow cake with it, and everyone devoured it. Fudgy, rich, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Excellent Frosting, very creamy. However...I omitted the fudge toppping (I did not have any on hand). It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States