Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very creamy, which is great, but back off on the milk to help it be more glutenous so it sticks to the walls of the cake. Overall, easy, tasty, and not overly sweet (for me that is great and my three boys loved it too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
What kind of butter do you use or does it matter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Frosting was very good despite using it on a very dry cake. Will try I again on a chocolate cake. It pipes very well and makes more than enough to frost a 2 layer 9 inch round cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was by far the best chocolate buttercream frosting ever! This was an excellent compliment to my homemade chocolate cupcakes! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Love this frosting recipe, it is always perfect and such wonderful chocolate flavor! Is so easy and spreads so easy! So good you will never be able to use store bought frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I am chocolate lover. I tried the frosting before I added the chocolate fudge topping and was in love. Then I added the fudge and felt like it really took away all of the better flavors. I would suggest leaving the fudge out altogether. It's just a taste that belongs on icecream, not on a cake. I also used fat free half and half instead of milk and it made it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Just mixed up the frosting. Of course, like many professional bakers recommend, I beat the butter(unsalted) and shortening about 8 minutes. These were the changes I made that made it delicious and a good frosting consistency. I used 1/2 cup Smuckers Special Dark Topping. It really doesn't taste that fudgy but that was definitely o.k. with me. I just wanted a good tasting chocolate buttercream frosting. I used 2 tsp. half and half. A little over a tablespoon of vanilla. Perfect sweetness. A recipe that could be varied easily. Smooth and I can hardly wait to frost my halloween cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Its awesome, almost like a pudding. Piped out beautiful on cupcakes, thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is a fabulous icing. It's rich and chocolatey, and can easily be adapted depending on which type of fudge sauce you use. I've made it twice now - one with more of a milk chocolate flavor using a homemade batch of chocolate syrup, and it was great. Just got done with my second batch - I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa Powder & Smucker's Special Recipe Hot Fudge Sauce - quite delicious and has a deeper, dark chocolate richness that I'm hoping will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Great, rich chocolately taste with a good consistency. I put this on my husband's birthday cake, and it was a hit. It reminds me of fudge. I don't use shortening, so I just used extra butter in place of the shortening. Will go to this recipe for all my chocolate frosting in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessybaker76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States