Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is the most incredible chocolate frosting. My only tip is don't over-beat it or it will be runny. I use this whenever I need a chocolate frosting. I always save the leftover frosting - it's great warmed up and poured over ice cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I used only butter because I did not have shortening, but this was awesome! The hot fudge topping really makes this delicious and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Awesome. I used heavy cream as others had suggested and smuckers hot fudge topping and it was the best frosting I've ever tried. I will NEVER buy store chocolate frosting again. Color was beautiful and it spread like a dream. I served this with the fabulous fudge chocolate cake (from this site) at my step fathers 50th birthday and already had my brother in law requesting it for his birthday. I filled the cake with chocolate ganache and sliced strawberries. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This frosting tastes like a candy bar!!! I couldn't scrape the bowl clean enough! lol I'll definitely be making this again and again and again!!! In my opinion it does not make a standard batch---this recipe actually yields half a batch, so if you plan to completely frost a 2 layer cake, double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2WICKI
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Thank you! Awesome recipe. I substituted the shortening with cream cheese and used dark hot fudge and it was the smoothest, creamiest, fudgiest frosting. Not that sugary sickly sweet stuff you get from a bakery or at the store. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2WICKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Excellent frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Jacobsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
It was pretty sweet, but I loooooove sugar so that is okay with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this frosting today and it was a disaster. I used a fudge sauce from this site. The frosting was too dry. It was falling off the cake. I added several ounces whipping cream to the tripled recipe to make it wet and spreadable. Now it's so wet that it won't harden on the outside. I've never had frosting behave this badly. Update: it tasted really good so i added a star. Thanks anyway Debra-- this one just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful icing. I used it on a fabulous cake recipe I found here called, "Too Much Chocolate Cake ". Can't go wrong with this winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
best chocolate frosting ever even good with out the hot fudge sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States