Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is just about the best fudge frosting I've ever tasted. Mine turned out a bit runny, which I solved by adding more powdered sugar and shortening. I added these to taste until it was both the right texture and the right flavor. I think the runniness was because of the hot fudge topping. I'll be using this recipe from now on whenever I need fudge frosting for cookies or cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Very rich, very yummy. I used Smuckers hot fudge topping and Watkins pure vanilla extract (only used 1/2 teas. though as I didn't think it needed 1 full teas). It turned out smooth and creamy. I will definitely use this recipe again. Maybe on a PB cake...mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I tried this recipe and it is awesome! I didn't use as much fudge topping and I used mostly butter with a little shortening and it is really good. If your icing is too thin you need to add more powered sugar! I have seen so many people saying the icing was running off the sides?? If you notice it is too think you need to add more sugar! If it is too thick add a few drops of milk until it thins it enough to spread. My came out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Very good recipe. I use "Rich Hot Fudge Sauce" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
amazing, awesome, the best, fantastic, funaminal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Second time making it and it tastes good. First time replaced hot fudge sauce for nutella and everyone loved it. This time replaced it with president's choice brand "old fashion dark chocolate" dessert topping and the frosting tastes great too. Thanks for the recipe,no more buying premade frosting since it is getting as pricy as making it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I was so excited to find a chocolate buttercream frosting with such rave reviews, but I've to say, I really don't like it. I'm not sure what it is but to me, it almost tastes like a liquor. Much too grown up for the children's cake I used it for. The recipe is a great texture and consistency, and the color is beautiful but the flavor wasn't what I was looking for. I'd say it was more a matter of personal taste than anything. I did however love the light chocolate mousse filling I made from this site: Chocolate Mousse Cake IV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
My husband made this to ice a dark chocolate cake, and the icing has a wonderful milk chocolate taste, but it wasn't a stiff icing like we had hoped. It was not exactly runny, but a creamy consistency. Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
So awesome and simple, this was the first frosting I made in my cooking lessons. It was really easy and tasted scruptious. I even made extra and stuck it in the ice box intill I needed to use it, the results were excellent. Thanks a lot for this Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this for my Sister's birthday and everyone loved it! This is a keeper and I will be passing it down to my daughter. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States