Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Quite good. I omitted the hot fudge (sorry) because we are out. Instead, I melted a big handful of semi-sweet morsels in bacon grease and added some 10x. I added that to the butter cream and I'm pretty stoked for the cupcakes tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
OH MY GOSH THIS WAS GREAT!!! JUST GREAT :D I'll never have to buy frosting again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was so good. I followed the recipe exactly as it's written except, after reading some reviews, I added the milk by 1/2 Tablespoons just to make sure it didn't turn out too runny. I ended up added a total of 1.5 Tbls. One reviewer commented that this is only as good as the hot fudge that you use; I can see how this would hold true. I used Smuckers. This is so rich and creamy. Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Just frost my cake and this icing was sooo creamy/delicious. I took suggestion of others and substitued half/half for the milk as well as chocolate syrup for the fudge. I could stand for it to be just a hint sweeter - but overall this is a MUST have recipe for the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Ohhh. this is good! I tried it with the nutella too (only half of the fudge substituted) and I wished I'd swapped it all! So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was my first attempt at "homemade" frosting. LOVED THIS RECIPE - it turned out awesome!! I never like to review after I've tweaked, but I did use heavy whipping cream instead of milk. Silky and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hooper Danner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MorganElektra
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This icing came out amazing! Instead of hot fudge topping, I used plain old Hershey's chocolate syrup (slightly less than the full cup... maybe 3/4 cup) and it tastes delicious. The frosting is light and creamy and sweet but not overly sweet. I will definitely be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very creamy, which is great, but back off on the milk to help it be more glutenous so it sticks to the walls of the cake. Overall, easy, tasty, and not overly sweet (for me that is great and my three boys loved it too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
What kind of butter do you use or does it matter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Frosting was very good despite using it on a very dry cake. Will try I again on a chocolate cake. It pipes very well and makes more than enough to frost a 2 layer 9 inch round cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States