Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
this recipe is really good. i put it on brownies and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This frosting was so creamy, light and not too rich! My whole family loved it and will be using again. I did use 1/8 more milk and only about 1/4 cup of Hersheys Syrup. It came out perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was great. Made the recipe exactly as called for and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Love, love, love this recipe! So easy and the taste is light, creamy. The frosting is very spreadable, and the color is great. I omitted the fudge and didn't level off the sugar and used organic cocoa. This made a light chocolate flavor which was perfect for the family! This is fantastic. I can't say enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made this exactly to the directions, if you want to save on calories or fat then don't eat cake! Its a shame to see people try different variations of this... I won't ever make another chocolate frosting again...This is going in my family cookbook it's soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very Disappointing recipe. I expected this to be an above average frosting with the added expense of hot fudge topping. However, I thought it had a "waxy" taste. I will never make frosting again that calls for "shortening" in the recipe. My husband thought it was fine, but if you love true BUTTERCREAM, you will be disappointed using the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Made without alterations and it came out great. The color is not near as dark as the picture, but the texture was smooth and glossy - very easy to work with. Tastes great, perfectly sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYMCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Not too sweet, perfect texture, and does not taste like a store bought frosting. Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is the 2nd time i used this recipe and I'm not sure why people are finding it too runny - too many tablespoons of milk perhaps? I used only 3 tablespoons, the consistency is perfect (I put it in the fridge and pipe it the following day just for easiness sake!), the taste is divine! I used Hersheys hot-fudge but plan on making a 'low fat' version of this recipe in the near future. Hubby also gave it the thumbs up and loved it - but he's easy to please. The first batch I co-baked with my best friend, the frosting went on 'Sandy's chocolate cake' baked into cupcakes and people were saying it was the best cupcake/frosting they've ever had! LOVE it - easy, quick and delicious - what more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Basically, it's a step up from canned frosting. Used Hershey brand Hot Fudge Topping. Even if I did like the flavor the consistency was too runny. Adding a cup of powdered sugar helped to save it some, but homemade is so easy and cheaper without the fudge topping why bother? Would I make it again? Sorry, no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States