Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I used about a cup more cocoa and used half and half instead of milk. I also used vanilla bean paste instead of vanilla extract to give it a little kick. In addition, I added 1 more cup of confectioners sugar as I wanted my icing to be thick and dense. It is perfect! Love this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn
Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This recipe was super easy and got great reviews from all who had my cupcakes for a baby shower. I didn't particularly like it but everyone else did so that's good enough for me. I used Smuckers chocolate fudge. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This chocolate fudge frosting is to die for! I did use Hershey's Special Dark hot fudge topping to get that deep rich dark color. I have to warn you, don't like the bowl...it's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Yup I stayed up till midnight. I only put one tablespoon of buttermilk in it, was perfect. I boxed it up and sent Uncle Bob his Chocolate birthday cake. Thank you. The best chocolate frosting I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xavibabi6
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is hands down my favorite frosting recipe. Some times I omit the cocoa powder and just make a vanilla frosting and that too is delicious. I don't think I'll ever try another frosting recipe. This one is perfect on so many levels! For my daughters' birthday and used different food coloring to create a colorful swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Great recipe for great frosting! It looks exactly as it does in the picture and tastes great. Easy and quick, i will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Fab! Has body, very easy to frost with and stayed where I put it without dripping or "deflating". I used unsalted butter plus a little more cocoa powder - the dark kind (Ghiradelli). I hate it when things look but don't taste like chocolate! This for sure tasted like chocolate. Next time I"ll try adding some contreau ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Two stars for flavor, but turned out too runny. My only substitution was I used all butter as others had suggested. I don't think I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This is THE BEST chocolate frosting I have ever made! It is so rich, creamy and elegant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Curd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This tastes so amazing!! I use butter (not shortening). It can be a little to soft for piping, but I've done it before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States