Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Excellent frosting. However, the type of fudge you use is everything. Your frosting will taste like the fudge you use. If you want a store bought frosting flavor, use an off brand hot fudge topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is a very easy frosting recipe. I skipped using the shortening and used all butter. I made this for my son's birthday cake and he and all loved it(my son does not really like a lot of sweets so...). It is so easy to work with,very smooth as others have said. It is definitely worth a try. I think the chocolate flavor is outstanding. I used Smuckers New dark chocolate ice cream topping. I can only guess the outcome might even be better if you made homemade hot fudge sauce. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
The fudge topping gives it that sweet kick. Better after one day in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My wife went crazy after tasting this. And my two small boys loved it. This will be the first icing I consider whenever I make a cake. I made a pirate ship for my youngest and I needed a dark icing. The taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have made this several times. I'm not a huge chocolate eater but love this. Try it with the Chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Excellent frosting. I have made a chocolate frosting in the past but the hot fudge topping gives an extra richness and flavor. Present recipe is not enough for a cake with two layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Very easy. Did not have hot fudge but it is delicious all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
My son chose this recipe without looking at the ingredients needed. We did not use the hot fudge topping or the milk. I'm not a huge fan of chocolate frosting and when I do, I like the milk chocolate instead of dark chocolate. In the future, for my own personal tastes, I would decrease the amount of cocoa. Aside from my own personal tastes it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Deeeeeeelicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious. I used homemade hot fudge (this is super easy to make guys... three ingredients - 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 6 oz of unsweetened chocolate bar, 2 T butter and heat slowly in a pan) and the flavor was outstanding. Don't forget to sift! I forgot and it wasn't as good as if I would've remembered... just got late and I got in a hurry. This was pretty simple though. It made a lot too! I had about 18 cupcakes and I had LOTS left over. Just FYI. Made boring cake-mix cupcakes a little more special!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States