Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious. I used homemade hot fudge (this is super easy to make guys... three ingredients - 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 6 oz of unsweetened chocolate bar, 2 T butter and heat slowly in a pan) and the flavor was outstanding. Don't forget to sift! I forgot and it wasn't as good as if I would've remembered... just got late and I got in a hurry. This was pretty simple though. It made a lot too! I had about 18 cupcakes and I had LOTS left over. Just FYI. Made boring cake-mix cupcakes a little more special!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Baked my first homemade cake and chose this frosting. Great recipe! Very light and creamy, not the deep dark chocolate flavor that can sometimes be overpowering. Very easy to spread and entirely delicious. I paired it with Yellow Clooney Cake by Alicia (made 150% frosting for this recipe). I haven't tried the cake yet but was eating the frosting likeit was pudding. Can't wait to cut a slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very good. Took the advice of another and used 2/3 cup of Nutella instead of hot fudge. It was fantastic. Perfect consistency to use in a cake decorator too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made this as a double whammy chocolate for my granddaughter's basketball team. It was her birthday. The girls loved it! Said it was to die for! I personally don't like chocolate so I couldn't judge. But, I was asked by a few girls to be their new grandma!!! Lol! One of the girls called it chocolate squared! Cupcake and frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I had to add a little more milk to make it the right consistency. I thought it was good. A few people thought it was to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used this recipe on Mexican chocolate cake from allrecipes. I omitted fudge sauce and added 1tsp cinnamon and pinch of cayenne pepper. Very creamy with a fudge like consistency.. Everyone loved it at the family reunion!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Wonderful frosting….not as fudgy as I expected….but still really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Yes, thank you! At last I have made chocolate frosting that my picky son ("I prefer canned frosting") really loved, along with everyone else. I used one recipe for a layer cake and it was just plenty, enough for some spoon licking. I bought Smucker's after reading some other ratings, and, as I was making it, realized I had bought Smuckers' Chocolate Fudge Topping, but it didn't say "HOT fudge topping." At any rate, no worries, it came out delicious. Thank you for the "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Simple, and tastes good. I don't usually like frosting but this time I actually ate it with the cake. Would definitely use this again whenever in need of chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
YUMMOLICIOUS!! I tried this recipe twice - once following the recipe as above, and once with some modifications. I loved the recipe both times, but the modifications definitely won!! Modifications: 3/4 cup butter (room temp) and NO shortenting. Replaced the milk with heavy cream - I added incrementally until I got the desired texture. About 1/4 - 1/2 cup. So smooth and delicious. I also made the frosting a day or two prior to serving - per the recommendation of another reviewer. I tasted it right after making and then again when it was served...definitely recommend making in advance - there was a difference in the taste...better if that's even possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States