Chocolate Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
After reading the reviews for this recipe I decided to try it anyway. I think those who didn't have success are inexperienced cooks who don't understand cornstarch. Anyway, I used 2-3 Tablespoons of cornstarch, not teaspoons. 1/4 c. sugar, because the choc. chips are so sweet. I added 3 heaping tablespoons of Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa, Dutch process. Oh, my, what a great ingredient! You have to cook the milk concoction til it boils, which means you have to use some heat to get it to thicken, which it does no problem if you use enough cornstarch and enough heat. My family loves this recipe and I think next time I'll try adding 1/4 peanut butter or a few peppermint sticks for a change. Excellent ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I used Truvia sweetener and nonfat GREEK yogurt. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added three tablespoons of dutch process chocolate. I froze this, then scooped it out and ran it through the blender, then re-froze. That's something I learned to do with homemade frozen yogurt to decrease the ice crystals and make for a smoother end product. Wow oh wow, this was incredible! Everyone loved this, even my froyo hating husband. This recipe will be made a lot this summer, I can tell you that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This is delicious! I used DANNON light vanilla yogurt with regular evaporated milk ( I figured the fat content would even itself out) and just a couple of tbs of sugar because the yogurt was already flavored - mmmm! I also just poured the recipe into my popsicle molds and popped them into the freezer and ended up with chocolate cheesecake flavored fudgesicles! Highly recommended, actually nutritious and ready in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was great! The first time I used vanilla yogurt and 3 T. sugar, and 2 T. cornstarch to thicken. I added a shot (1oz) of bourbon, which smoothed things out and added a yummy flavor. The second time, I used plain yogurt and aspartame packets instead of sugar (18 packets = 3/4 c sugar) and it was still delicious. A really good, rich low fat recipe. It benefits from the addition of a spoonful of cocoa powder to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I used sweetened condensed milk (didn't have evap milk), 1 cup yogurt, 3 tbs of cocoa, and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Omitted the sugar and the cornstarch because the condensed milk was sweet enough and thick enough. Using cornstarch to thicken the low-fat milk, though, is a really great idea and one I will probably use in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was delicious! Smooth, creamy, and chocolatey with a minor background tanginess from the yogurt. Per other reviews I used a tablespoon of corn starch and added a tablespoon of unsweetened dutched cocoa powder. I combined these with 1/2 cup sugar in a saucepan with the evaporated milk, and brought it to a boil, stirring regularly. After boiling for a couple of minutes, it thickened up nicely. Then I reduced the heat to low and added the chocolate chips. I made sure to use good-quality chocolate (Green Black brand cocoa and Ghirardelli chocolate chips). I also used vanilla low-fat yogurt and omitted the vanilla, since that's what I had on hand. The end result was creamy, thick, and chocolatey. It was great right out of the ice cream maker (soft serve consistency) and frozen overnight (hard pack consistency). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made exactly as stated. Was a little bitter, probably due to the bittersweet chocolate. Still good. Really sweet - I think you could cut back on the sugar by 1/4 C. Next time I might try dark chocolate rather than bittersweet and cutting back on the sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Love love love! I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder, following other reviewers. I also used vanilla yogurt and omitted the vanilla extract. I also didn't have an ice cream maker so I froze it in a metal bowl, whisking it every 45 minutes or so until it was the consistency of soft serve, then I just let it freeze. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is the first recipe I tried with my electric ice cream maker. I LOVE it. The flavor is fantastic! And it is soo creamy. I also would probably use a little less sugar and add a little more cornstarch as it did take a long time to thicken up when doing the cooked part of the recipe. But it finally did thicken up for me. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is a winner with me and a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I didn't have the evaporated milk, so I used half heavy cream and half milk. I also reduced the sugar to about half a cup. I agree that the key is to properly thicken the mixture by bringing it to a boil. I had no issues with this setting up at all. It thickened well and produced a very nice product that my family wants me to make again. I think I'd keep using the cream/milk mixture adn would skip the cornstarch part altogether as it left a slightly funky texture on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States