Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
this is great frosting with everyday ingredients. I substituted 6 tablespoons cocoa powder and 2 tablespoons veg. oil for the unsweetened baking chocolate. It worked great. Mine was perfectly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This has excellent flavor, but as a previous reviewer wrote, it is extremely thin. It took me six cups of powdered sugar to reach spreading consistancy. The next time I make it, I will only add 2 TBSP milk to the butter and chocolate. Then I can add more if needed after beating in the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is wonderful and fudgey. If your not looking for a more chocolate frosting this wouldnt be it. This stuff is pure devine fudge tasting, I can see how it can be used for fudge! Its delicious! My husband said the brownies were as good as the local bakery, and thats saying a lot! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, using high quality real butter. My frosting came out seeping with the oil from the butter---it was pretty gross. I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
My mom has been making this recipie ( under a different name) for over 40 years. Everybody loves it. Sometimes I even add cream and use it as a ganash or use less milk and make a fantastic fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Yikes - this one didn't turn out very good at all. Waaaaaaay too buttery for my tastes. After it was spread on brownies, I had to set paper towels on top to absorb all the extra butter that was pooling on the top. Followed the directions exactly - never had an issue making frosting before. Next time, I'll stick with "Chocolate Frosting I" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Me and my husband used this frosting on brownies and loved it! The flavor is great and I loved the texture of it. Warning though, it is rich. We will definitely use this recipe with brownies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I tried this recipe tonight, though I reduced the amount of milk as suggested. I used 3 Tablespoons. Although the flavor was great, it was unbelievably greasy. After I spread it onto some brownies, the butter "pooled" to the top and I had to blot it off with papertowels! That aside, there were no complaints and they were gobbled up in no time. I'm not sure how to correct this, so am not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Super easy to make. I reccomend just over 4 tbsb milk for the right consistancy. You can always add more sugar but this changes the taste. This is a lighter frosting - not heavy chocolate. The perfect complement to fudge brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Good flavor, but definitely needed work. I wanted it to look shiny, so I added about 3 Tb corn syrup. Thin, as has been pointed out before, so I placed it in a bigger bowl with ice and water, and stirred gently until it firmed up. Do not use a mixer over the ice and water, unless you want the color to lighten up considerably. I was going for a dark, fudgy look, so I just stirred it with a rubber scraper. It will thicken up on the bottom, where the bowl makes contact with the icy water. Not to worry. Just take it out of the ice water and stir until the thicker part has blended in. Then return to the icy water and continue stirring until it reaches your desired consistency. I was using it for my 9-layer vertical torte, so I increased it by 50%. Held its shape very well, and with the addition of the corn syrup, it sported a lovely, appealing sheen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States