Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
It needed way more chocolate. I melted 2 more cubes and added them in at the end. I also needed about a 1/2 cup more confec. sugar to make it spreadable, but it did harden well out in the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeniguana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
yum yum... i ate up lots of it while making it.. i made 1/3 of the original amount and used cocoa powder as suggeted in a review..the only thing is i didnt have as much sugar as needed..so i used less and it was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Thick and fudgy! If that's what you want this is it. I had to substitute unsweetened cocoa and oil for baking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Super easy and really tasty. The only issue I had was that I didn't have any baking chocolate, so I did the 6 TB cocoa powder and 2 TB of vegetable oil as suggested in one of the other reviews. I definately will NOT do that again. The oil kept separating from everything else, and left a really bad greasy shine on the cake. I ended up blotting the top with a paper towel! :( Next time I will just replace it with either extra butter or milk and I think it will turn out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This recipe certainly came out the correct consistency for me, but it turned a weird texture after it hardened and cooled. It looks so pretty in the picture I had high hopes. But I will try this one again as the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
The trick to this frosting is making it aprox. 10 min. before you need it. I also added a little bit more sugar and it works perfectly. If adding sprinkles do so before frosting hardens, which happens very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My family is very picky with their chocolate frosting and I lost my mom-in-laws recipe years ago. I used this one and they loved it. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This frosting tasted like pure sugar and was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
very tasty I usally like the cream cheese base icing but this is absulaty delightfull and the right thickness. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Great recipe. You can make this recipe in minutes... its quick and easy and a great frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States