Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
used this on aunt mary's chocolate cake, had to add ALOT of powdered sugar to get it to spreading consistency, but once enough was added it was fabulous. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eliza801
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I spread this on my delicious chocolate zucchini cake and it was wonderful! I made this recipe mostly as directed, but with two slight variations. The first variations was that I doubled the chocolate called for, because I love really chocolatey frosting. The second variation was that I used a double boiler to melt the butter, chocolate and milk - stirring constantly, then I moved my double boiler into an ice bath and stirred constantly until it was completely cooled. Then I transfered the cooled chocolate mixture into the other ingredients, and it turned out perfectly fluffy. Every baker needs a good chocolate frosting recipe, and this is a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliza801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was waaayyyy too sickeningly sweet. I normally have the sweetest tooth in the family but even this was too much for me! The recipe came out too liquidy, aswell. The picture looked promising but I'll stick to my dad's frosting recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very easy to make when you are in a pinch. I was baking brownies and forgot to buy frosting. I found this recipe and made it and was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was such yummy frosting!!! I have never made homemade frosting before, and this turned out to be the best recipe to start with! It was super easy! Like other users said, the chocolate/milk/butter mixture separated after boiling, but after adding the sugar, the texture was creamy and smooth. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My son brought home a chocolate cake recipe from preschool, so we of course had to try it... making this frosting was the saving grace! My daughter only ate the frosting and I don't blame her! It was the perfect sweetness, chocolateyness and consistancy- didn't get dried out and hard after a few days like most frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe! I was looking for a type frosting to make a cake for my Grandpa's 80th birthday. This recipe saved the day. It was such a huge success. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
i found this runny and oily...not sure what went wrong but needless to say my layer cake looked horrendous and the top layer kept slipping off!! friends said it still tasted good considering but i'm looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Not sure where I went wrong. I melted the butter, chocolate and milk, but as it came to the boil - it seperated. Weird. I added the sugar anyway - cause it was the last of my butter - and it smoothed back out. However, after it cooled - it got lumpy again. Microwave helped. Anyway, it tastes like a brownie which we LOVED, but it was an odd frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was very yummy and fudgy! I used cocoa powder instead so I had to add a couple extra spoons of milk,but it was GREEAAT on Aunt Mary's chocolate cake..YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States