Chocolate Frosting III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very easy to make but definitely follow the reviews...I went with 3 Tablespoons milk and about 2 cups extra sugar to get it a spreadable consistency. Very fudgy and delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This frosting needed a lot of extra powdered sugar in order to reach the correct consistency, as another reviewer has said. But other than that the taste is really great, and tastes almost exactly like fudge. My brother said that he thought it had a slight coffee taste to it, but was mostly like fudge. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Delicious! I used it to frost the Wonderful Banana Cake recipe from this site. For my own tastes, I added in an extra cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I read the other reviews so I reduced the butter by 3 tblns and used only 3 tbln of milk. I beat the out of it with my kitchenaid mixer but couldn't get it to fluff up enough to spread. So--I rolled it out like a fondant and draped it over the cake. It was delicious! I'll probably not be able to reproduce it again, but it ended up fudgy and good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Good, with modifications. As suggested, I only used 3 TBS milk. Also I used 70% belgian chocolate (from Trader Joe's- what I had on hand) and 1/4 cup of butter. Because I don't like my frosting too sweet I added in a few teaspoons of corn starch after it was adequately sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great and easy! My first chocolate frosting and the most delicious and successful one :) I added some crasings to decorate and enhance flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechealpina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
loved it! tasted like good old fashioned frosting. some people said they had trouble with the butter. you really have to beat it to get it combined. great recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is the best brownie frosting recipe. I've tried many versions but they become sugary and hard after a few days. This one is creamy and has a wonderful chocolate flavor. I made 1/2 recipe for a 9"square pan of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I also did as a previous user and substituted chocolate squares with cocoa powder and oil....turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo Merrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I've always bought canned frosting, and I never will again after this recipe! It's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States