Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amaal1978
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Thanks for the recipe, I am addicted to cream cheese, so I added about 2 tbsp, but it's delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very nice. Sweet with the just the right taste of chocolate. Did not add the coffee as I did not have any instant granules. Was a little soft, but maybe it was because I cut the recipe in half. Was perfect for 9x5 vegan cake. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I'll rate this four stars, even while I had some disappointment with this recipe. First, and most important, the coffee flavor is fairly potent and because it's so prominent, I believe it should be mentioned in the recipe's title or you're in for a big surprise. In other words, the coffee in this recipe is more than just enough to intensify the chocolate flavor! Second, the frosting is only mildly chocolate and very light in color. If you want a deeper chocolate frosting, both in color and flavor, check out "Rich Chocolate Frosting," also from this site. So it wasn't what I wanted or expected, being light in chocolate flavor and heavy in coffee flavor, but it was still very good. Light, creamy, fluffy, and piped nicely. Perhaps if this was named more aptly, like "Mocha Buttercream," I might have been inclined to rate this higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Instead of using 1/4 cuper butter i used 6 tbsp. since thats all i had left. so i just used it all. and it came out perfect! i used these on my sugar cookies so delicious! Also, i didnt use the coffee granules, just cocoa powder. once again, very delicious. the frosting will become thicker if you let it sit for about 10 minutes or so. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Yummy frosting, covered 9 in round cake. I didn't put coffee crystals so I used 1/4 c. cocoa. I dumped it all in the middle top of cake and it spread out and set up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppi2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I added 3 times as much sugar to thicken it up because it was so soupy, but nothing was thickening it up, so I had to toss it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe but to frost a cake you need to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Sorry my kids didnt like it the chocolate taste like a coffe over power i did exacly what recipe asked it did not hit for us .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I did add butter as this was to frost a cake and another review suggested that. This frosting was DELICIOUS on my chocolate cake!! A hit all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I subed he coffee for cappichno gorunds and OMG!!! Some of the best frosting for Dark Chocolate cake. Sprinkle powder sugar over the the cake or swirl white chocolate on it. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenelf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States