Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Great and fudgy...I added 1 1/2 Tbsp.s of brewed coffee for an even richer fudge flavor. Put it on a yellow cake and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
A great and easy chocolate frosting that tastes better than the storebought variety. I will make again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Delicious. I used lactose-free skim milk and margarine. I only had 1 tbsp. of vanilla left, but I added a tbsp and a half of vanilla flavored coffee, and that made it up for it. I used maybe a touch more milk than was stated and used the frosting for the Eclair Cake recipe on this site. It went over well with everyone who ate it. Also, I made it another time with a chocolate cake, but was out of milk, so I used 1 tsp. of white chocolate raspberry non-dairy creamer and a little bit of water, and that worked ok too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
this is a great frosting! it was a little scary when i added the cocoa mixture, it ended up like little peas, until I added the milk, it frosted a 13x9 cake wonderfully! I cut the powder suger down to 3 cups, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Love this recipe. Very easy to make and very chocolatly. I did'nt have milk so I used Rice milk in its place and it tastes just fine, did'nt alter the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Loved it. My boyfriend called it doughnut frosting because when it was fresh it tasted that way. The day after it was made it tasted better than the can type. I might use a runnier version of this on doughnuts and see how that turns out. For an easy doughnut recipe look under grandma's doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I used chocolate soy milk and added a TBSP of coffee grounds, it had this great mocha flavor! Everyone loved it, even my 8 year old god-daughter! This is now a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Tastes great and soooo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I made 1.5 batches and it covered and filed an 8" two layer cake with a bit to spare. I added a teaspoon of Espresso powder to the chocolate mix to give it that mocha taste. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This was amazing! A perfect consistency and taste! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States