Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Great and fudgy...I added 1 1/2 Tbsp.s of brewed coffee for an even richer fudge flavor. Put it on a yellow cake and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
A great and easy chocolate frosting that tastes better than the storebought variety. I will make again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Love this recipe. Very easy to make and very chocolatly. I did'nt have milk so I used Rice milk in its place and it tastes just fine, did'nt alter the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Frosting wasn't to bad. Except I had trouble spreading it on my cake. But that can happen. I felt it had way to much sugar in it. However, if you like sugary frosting it would definately make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This is a very good "medium" chocolate frosting. I'm still searching for the perfect DARK frosting, but this has good flavor and is quick to make. I melted the butter in the microwave, added the cocoa and microwaved for an additional 20 seconds. I would recommend the stovetop method to ensure your cocoa melts completely into the butter - but I was in a BIG hurry and nuking it works fine in a pinch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Loved it. My boyfriend called it doughnut frosting because when it was fresh it tasted that way. The day after it was made it tasted better than the can type. I might use a runnier version of this on doughnuts and see how that turns out. For an easy doughnut recipe look under grandma's doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Delicious. I used lactose-free skim milk and margarine. I only had 1 tbsp. of vanilla left, but I added a tbsp and a half of vanilla flavored coffee, and that made it up for it. I used maybe a touch more milk than was stated and used the frosting for the Eclair Cake recipe on this site. It went over well with everyone who ate it. Also, I made it another time with a chocolate cake, but was out of milk, so I used 1 tsp. of white chocolate raspberry non-dairy creamer and a little bit of water, and that worked ok too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I used chocolate soy milk and added a TBSP of coffee grounds, it had this great mocha flavor! Everyone loved it, even my 8 year old god-daughter! This is now a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Tastes great and soooo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I made 1.5 batches and it covered and filed an 8" two layer cake with a bit to spare. I added a teaspoon of Espresso powder to the chocolate mix to give it that mocha taste. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States