Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I had to use more milk...and I used whipping cream instead of the milk for an even creamier taste! Oh, and I only used 1.5 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
awesome and easy I just put it all in the food processor and it came out really nice and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This frosting is exceptionally good; it tastes just like old-fashioned fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. This frosting is wonderful! I followed the directions exactly by adding the milk 1 tsp at a time and mixing after each. At first I thought I had done something wrong however by the time I added the 5th tsp of milk the recipe finally started turning into a frosting consistency. My other suggestion is to use a deep bowl. Mixing the p. sugar and cocoa mixture together is messy if using a mixer. The flavor is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
3 words... quick, easy, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe was a disappointment for me. It was more work than worth it. Be forewarned, you are working with chocolate dough. It was an understatement to call it thick. Wheew. I worked up a muscle, and I didn't even use all the powdered sugar. The electric mixer was preoccupied. I would definitely use the mixer if I was to make a dough. Also, I wouldn't make this again next time. I love fudge on my ice cream but I guess I don't care for regular fudge you eat with your hands. It tasted like fudge but I just didn't care for the taste. Seemed too sweet for me, and, like I said above, I didn't even use all the powdered sugar. I guess I would just like it slightly darker and more chocolatey. I think I'll try to find another recipe on this site. I also gave it more credit because my friend liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was okay. My family liked it, but I personally found the taste of the powdered sugar overwhelming. I wouldn't call it "fudgey" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful and fudgy. I followed the directions exactly and this is the best chocolate frosting I've ever had. I make cakes professionally and got a lot of compliments on this recipe. It was easy to work with and was not gooey at all. The trick is to add the milk a teaspoon at a time like the directions say. THE BEST recipe on the internet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe was the best chocolate frosting recipe on this website...you just need 2 add some more confectionars sugar... about half a cup more... i never made chocolate frosting before and this was THE BEST SO FAR... --ShayShay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
THIS IS IT!!!!!! This tastes really REALLY good!!!The only thing was I didn't use the full 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar. I kept pouring a little at a time and mixing it with just a 1/2 tablespoon and got the constistency that I wanted.So I'd say I used only about 2 to 2 1/2 cups. It's really tasty :):):) I'll be using this frosting for all my recipes that call for chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States