Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I didn't like this too much. I tasted too much like powdered sugar. I added about 6 oz. of cream cheese though, and that made it pretty good. I used it on a cake that I made the egg white receipe for, and colored for my cousin's Birthday. It did turn out good as a chocolate cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was good and easy. I didn't heat it on the stove. I took another reviewer's suggestions and just let my butter get soft and then mixed everything together. I reduced the sugar to 3 cups and increased the cocoa to 1/3 cup. When I make again, I will increase cocoa to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
very good, I only had about 2 1/4 c of sugar....but was still great.I only used about 2 tsp of vanilla and used whipping cream in place of the milk ( about 5 T). Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I loved it!!!! who wants chocolate frosting that isnt rich and sweet. I would give it more stars if I could. Its the best and easiest chocolate frosting I ever made. YUMMMM-EEEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is an okay recipe. I did follow the directions, and I know it turned out right~ but it wasn't my favorite recipe. I wouldn't recommend this recipe and I wouldn't say it was bad, but to much sweetness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I just realized that I was supposed to do the mixing in the saucepan on the stove! I didn't do that - I microwaved the butter and then mixed it all in a bowl. And it's really good, except it's a bit too vanilla-flavoured. I used a hair under a tablespoon (ran out) but would probably use 2 tsp next time and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
awesome!!! You could use half the butter and a little more milk to make a little healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmesan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I really didn't get the flavor of this frosting. Mine tasted so strongly of vanilla. I would recommend using less. I ended up adding some melted chocolate to mask the vanilla flavor. The consistency was great, with the addition of extra milk, and it spread easily. But maybe start with a tsp. of vanilla, and add to taste before putting in the whole TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
loved flavor and shiny appearance of this frosting! Added a bit more milk and poured on bundt cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Used 3 cups of powdered sugar and about a small amount more of cocoa then it calls for. Also added about 1 T of freshly brewed coffee. Very good on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemom
Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States