Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I am a chocolate frosting LOVER, but oh my, this is actually too sweet for me. I like a frosting that is creamy, glossy and really spreadable.. It IS thick as described, definitely rich, but I wouldn't really call it creamy. It's kind of dry looking (dull, not shiny) and I used 3 1/2 tablespoons of milk. Oh well, I'll share it with my friends in the apartment building where I live and they'll still love it, just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
PERFECT for brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraR
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is perfect frosting for cupcakes. It is fluffy, rich and thick, however, the recipe did not make enough to frost a 2-layer cake. I used just 3 cups of the sugar as recommended by other reviewers. My kids loved this, and the best part for me was that it was so quick and easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, I double the recipe and had enough to frost a three layer 9" and a small 6" on top with some leftover. Flavor was good but the texture was perfect after I let it set for 10 min or so (one kid started crying and I had to leave the kitchen) best mistake because when I came back it was thinck enough to spread and pipe some flowers in. Very happy with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I haven't had luck with chocolate frosting, but this recipe turned out perfect! It was so smooth and creamy and tasted really delicious. I will only use this chocolate frosting from now on. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Super fast and easy! Just what I need with two kids. I added a little extra cocoa just because I LOVE chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe for frosting, one of the best I have found. I add more cocoa powder and sift it and the confectioners sugar twice before adding them. This is a frosting you can play with. You can use other extracts and change the flavor to what ever you may like. I used up to half a cup of milk and it turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mauckport, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Great, quick and easy. I had no problem frosting a layer cake with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine Lawrence Burns
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Delicious! I used 3 full cups of powdered sugar and the full 2 tablespoons of milk. I sifted the powdered sugar and cocoa together first before adding the wet ingredients. Very good, I don't know why I'd ever buy frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Lawrence Burns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is an awesome recipe.... I decreased sugar to 3 cups and used almond extract in place of vanilla... the beauty of this recipe is you can add more sugar/milk to suit your taste.... This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States