Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Good stuff. Backed the sugar down to 2 cups, added 1T cocoa, and 1T of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Very, very sweet and quite rich. For my two layer round 9" cake, this made a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This frosting is great!I prefer a more fluffy frosting as well and I did as recommended and just creamed the butter and didn't melt it.So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Stephanie*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuyvesant, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is basically the same recipe I was raised with but prepared differently. My husband always said my frosting was bland so I thought I would try prepping it this way. Instead of baking cocoa I used a square and I used 3 tablespoons of milk (more spreadable) and it came out great! I think melting the butter instead of heating the milk (the way my mother did it) made all the difference in the world. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My girlfriend loved it I thought it tasted great but it was not the texture I was looking for. I like a fluffy, creamy frosting. It is very rich, great chocalate flavor would work great on a cake. As for a cupcakes not so good if you like the tall fluffy type. Thanks I will keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Love the flavor of this frosting. I cut the sugar back to 2 C as other reviewers suggested and it was perfect!! I did double the recipe and whipped it for several minutes to get it fluffy. YUM!!! My new favorite chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I am a chocolate frosting LOVER, but oh my, this is actually too sweet for me. I like a frosting that is creamy, glossy and really spreadable.. It IS thick as described, definitely rich, but I wouldn't really call it creamy. It's kind of dry looking (dull, not shiny) and I used 3 1/2 tablespoons of milk. Oh well, I'll share it with my friends in the apartment building where I live and they'll still love it, just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
PERFECT for brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraR
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is perfect frosting for cupcakes. It is fluffy, rich and thick, however, the recipe did not make enough to frost a 2-layer cake. I used just 3 cups of the sugar as recommended by other reviewers. My kids loved this, and the best part for me was that it was so quick and easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, I double the recipe and had enough to frost a three layer 9" and a small 6" on top with some leftover. Flavor was good but the texture was perfect after I let it set for 10 min or so (one kid started crying and I had to leave the kitchen) best mistake because when I came back it was thinck enough to spread and pipe some flowers in. Very happy with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States