Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe! It is so easy and tastes a little like fudge. I added a bit more milk because I wanted it a bit thinner. Also, it is not a huge batch. Perfect for cupcakes, but I doubled it for a 2 layer sheet cake and didn't have enough to fill it. I will use it every time I want a yummy chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very very sweet. Definitely needed more milk. I only used 3 c of sugar as suggested in other reviews, but i think that was still alot of sugar. Next time I will try 2c and add as needed. Tasted more like mousse than fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agadoelleon
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as the directions said. It turned out perfect for a 2 layer 9" cake. It was not too thick or thin and it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This frosting recipe was awesome! I had to modify it to make it gluten-free and dairy-free and it didn't disappoint! I just substituted gluten/dairy-free margarine for the butter and rice milk for the milk and used it for a birthday cake. The guests were totally surprised to find it was free of these ingredients! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was so good, I used it with my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
this icing is okay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was excellent on my Fudge Chocolate Cake! I added 6 oz of cream cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very rich, delicious taste. However, it was more like fudge than frosting. Not light and fluffy at all. I noticed that at least one other reviewer mentioned letting the butter soften instead of melting it. I do think I'd try that next time because I think melting the butter does change the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Takes like Fudge!! I love it! In the sauce pan I put 1 cup of confectioners' sugar to help with the flavor (mixing flavor) and I added more milk then is stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Recipe is really great! love it! My only adjustment was adding a tiny sprinkle of salt, but that's a personal preference and not really necessary. I used this on a King Arthur Chocolate cake....soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States