Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
By the time I was done playing around with this to get it to the texture and consistency I wanted, it was very good. But I would have much preferred a more reliable recipe that didn't require so much tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I won't make this frosting again. It was just ok. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
SOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
very easy. I used only 3 cups sugar and had to add more milk to make it spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Absolutely wonderful recipe! Fudgy and chocolatey! I also cut the powdered sugar to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I had lost my hersheys chocolate frosting recipe and found this one to be the closest for what I needed. It was enough frosting to frost one full cake although the frosting was not put on real thick. I did cut back the powdered sugar 1/2 cup and added extra cocoa to taste and some extra milk as needed to get the perfect consistency. This frosting is not meant for piping it is the consistency of the spreadable types for evenly iced cakes. With the following adjustments it works fine for homestyle chocolate type cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe! It is so easy and tastes a little like fudge. I added a bit more milk because I wanted it a bit thinner. Also, it is not a huge batch. Perfect for cupcakes, but I doubled it for a 2 layer sheet cake and didn't have enough to fill it. I will use it every time I want a yummy chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very very sweet. Definitely needed more milk. I only used 3 c of sugar as suggested in other reviews, but i think that was still alot of sugar. Next time I will try 2c and add as needed. Tasted more like mousse than fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agadoelleon
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as the directions said. It turned out perfect for a 2 layer 9" cake. It was not too thick or thin and it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This frosting recipe was awesome! I had to modify it to make it gluten-free and dairy-free and it didn't disappoint! I just substituted gluten/dairy-free margarine for the butter and rice milk for the milk and used it for a birthday cake. The guests were totally surprised to find it was free of these ingredients! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States