Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Wonderful! quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Way too sweet & I decreased the sugar to 2 1/2 cups. It felt like it was missing something...maybe heavy cream instead of milk. I don't know but I'll be looking for a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for. It definitely filled a craving. Nice frosting for brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
SO good! Very similar to the kind in a can, but much better and far richer. I use Dutch cocoa powder and more like 2 1/4 c powdered sugar and I kept the butter soft instead of melted and just mashed everything with a fork. I used it to frost a Duff chocolate cake mix (also the best!), cooked in a 9 x 13 and it worked great! Rave reviews from our guests, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Tasted great. At the beginning it looked like it was going to be too much sugar but it worked out perfectly. I had just a little bit under 2 tbsp of vanilla extract because I ran out, so that may account for why I feel like there's something missing. Still a great and easy recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I halved the recipe as I only had 12 cupcakess to frost. The quantity was just right. The icing is yummy. Though it does taste better the next day if you can be patient to wait. I just melted the butter in the microwave and also added a bit more milf to make it easier to spread. Tried piping but consistency was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This frosting tastes and looks great, it has a good texture too. But I changed it a tiny bit by using chocolate milk instead of regular white and its sooooo chocolately! I used it to frost a single layer cake and it worked fantastic. Exactly what I was looking for! Thanks for this great frosting :) By the way!!!.... I didnt melt the butter all the way, I put it in the microwave until it was halfway soft then mixed it up real well untill it was just extremely soft butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
very good icing! I used a little less sugar than it called for and a bit more milk and it was just enough to frost a two layer 9inch cake ( not filled though) A great basic recipe to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
i halved the recipe cu i wasn't gonna use tht much and i ran outta vanilla making the cake it was gonna go on, so i left tht bit out. but it still turned out great! bet with the vanilla next time wud be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindonut
Living In: Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
i did what one reviewer recommended and blended everything together using extremely soft butter. this way the frosting had a "melty" texture when eaten. i also found that it wasn't chocolate-y enough for the brownies i was making, so i had to add more cocoa. i do, however, like that this is a "no-cook" recipe that is fairly easy to execute. and no, don't try to ice a cake with this. it's a forgiving recipe, but it's definitely meant more for brownies and the like. in all, tasty and easy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samelysame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States