Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I added some cold brewed coffee in w/ the milk & it gave it a nice mocha flavor. I did as MelanieKay & nuked the butter instead of cooking it on the stovetop. I also decreased the sugar some....be sure & beat this well or it will taste just like powdered sugar w/ some cocoa. I used this on cupcakes & also on cake-in-a-cone treats my grandsons & I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Very good frosting. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I used it on cupcakes and it worked really well. I added some brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
used whipped cream instead of milk, turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was good, very fudgy tasting icing. But very, very thick and not very easily spreadable at all. I recommend adding a little more milk than asked for to make it easier to spread. But it's good if you want it very fudgy-like and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This was amazing! A perfect consistency and taste! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
this is a great frosting! it was a little scary when i added the cocoa mixture, it ended up like little peas, until I added the milk, it frosted a 13x9 cake wonderfully! I cut the powder suger down to 3 cups, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Too sweet for me. I ended up adding more unsweetened cocoa and some walnuts and it tasted better to me. Good on a chocolate bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Family and friends loved the taste, very fudgy. I thought it had sugary taste but I am not a chocolate icing type. I also found it hard to make. I used 2-3 times the amount of milk as listed and it was still hard to spread. definately not light and fluffy. Hint: Use your electric mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I made 1.5 batches and it covered and filed an 8" two layer cake with a bit to spare. I added a teaspoon of Espresso powder to the chocolate mix to give it that mocha taste. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States