Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I just used 2 batches of this recipe to frost my Yule Log. It looks nice and tastes very good. It's easy to adjust the amount of milk for the consistency you need. I changed just a few things: I used 1/2T vanilla, 1/3C cocoa, and 2 1/2 C conf. sugar. I didn't measure the milk, but needed more than in the recipe. This will be my chocolate frosting recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Thank you! I was looking to make truffles for my husband, who's allergic to commercially-made chocolate (soy lecithin), so I needed a frosting recipe that only used cocoa. Yours worked very well, (though I'm pretty sure I ended up adding more milk than just 2T). This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redpixie
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
thhick and fudgie,i put this in a pastry bag the put in cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Very good, very thick and fudgy frosting. I needed two batches to frost a two-layer 9-inch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This very fudgy frosting tastes great, but do NOT attempt to frost a layer cake with it. It is much too stiff to work with. Heated, it can be poured and spread. It would be ideal for brownies or a bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Fantastic frosting. Works very well with a dutch black cake. I used a high fat organic choco, for the best results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I did mine a little differently - instead of melting the butter, I let it get really soft on the counter. Then added all the ingredients into a mixing bowl and beat it until it was very fluffy. Very light and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I added some cold brewed coffee in w/ the milk & it gave it a nice mocha flavor. I did as MelanieKay & nuked the butter instead of cooking it on the stovetop. I also decreased the sugar some....be sure & beat this well or it will taste just like powdered sugar w/ some cocoa. I used this on cupcakes & also on cake-in-a-cone treats my grandsons & I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Very good frosting. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom

Displaying results 131-140 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States