Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I made two batches of this to cover my daughter's birthday cake. In an effort to make it slightly healthier I made one batch per the recipe and made the 2nd batch with FF I can't believe it's not butter. It was probably a wash as I had to add a little more powdered sugar because that fake butter tends to be watery. The recipe is absolutely delicious and simple. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is the perfect frosting for just about anything. I used evaporated milk instead, and I'm pretty sure I used more than a few tablespoons to thin the frosting out. After about 5-6 tablespoons, the consistency was great and I still had some frosting leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I made this to go along with Chocolate Cake II and it was absolutely fantastic. Very rich and creamy, gave me a stomach ache (but that was my fault)...heh. I added 1 1/2 tbs. brewed coffee like one of the reviews said, and I mixed it with the milk to go into the cocoa and sugar mixture. I will definitely use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Mmm! It was really good, I was making some chocolate cake and thought, hey what the heck, let's try it!! So, here I am eating chocolate cake and loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was the perfect frosting for brownies. I made brownies, thought I had the frosting, but someone used it and did not replace it. This was made easily with what I had on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beach Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This frosting was very easy to make and tastes great. I used to make my mom's recipe that I had to beat by hand (bad childhood memories) for about 20 minutes after you cooked it to get the right consistency. This one took maybe 10 minutes in my kitchenaid mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
smooth and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I looked for a chocolate frosting recipe that had ingredients I had on hand, and I ran across this one. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiwawa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This frosting turned out wonderful. I used it on a cupcake recipe I found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was a great recipe. I also did not use the full 3.5 cups of sugar I just added till right consistancy and taste. It was very easy and I'll never buy store bought icing again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.T.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States