Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
The flavor is great! The only thing I would change is the process. I measured the powdered sugar and cocoa and sifted them together to avoid lumps. I then melted the butter, and when the butter was melted, I added the sugar and cocoa to the butter in the pan, keeping the heat to low. I added the vanilla and milk and blended it until smooth. I have another recipe that is similar and the frosting thickens as it cools. If it becomes grainy, I heat it a little more and keep stirring until it smoothes out. Then, I frosted the entire cake. It looks beautiful on the cake and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSJPVAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I will look for a different recipe next time...the taste was a four, but the texture wasn't pretty when I spread it on my brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. Firstly, it tastes more like sugar than like chocolate. Second, by using so many dry ingredients before the milk, you get a clumpy mixture that you have to stir endlessly to get smooth. I'd suggest using 1/2 c. cocoa, just 2.5 cups of confectionery sugar and adding the milk alternately with the sugar (you may need more than 2 T.). With all these changes, you get a very good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
rich and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
it has a good taste but that was about the only thing that came out good in mine..otherwise it had a very light light color and a bit lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This recipe is great. It was fast and turned out just right for brownies and cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I thought it was great. The funny thing is that I didn't finish reading the instructions that it was suppose to be cooked. Well it didn't get cooked and it still a great recipe maybe we will try it cooked next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I think I would prefer using this frosting on brownies or maybe cupcakes. First off, it tastes like heaven. It's almost like eating fudge, flavor-wise. The only thing I ran into was that it wasn't enough to frost a two layer cake (I didn't use it for filling or topping, just along the edge of the top and on the sides) and I put a smidge too much milk in, so it kind of wept off the sides a little. No one complained though, and the cake was almost gone when I left. I used it with One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I made two batches of this to cover my daughter's birthday cake. In an effort to make it slightly healthier I made one batch per the recipe and made the 2nd batch with FF I can't believe it's not butter. It was probably a wash as I had to add a little more powdered sugar because that fake butter tends to be watery. The recipe is absolutely delicious and simple. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is the perfect frosting for just about anything. I used evaporated milk instead, and I'm pretty sure I used more than a few tablespoons to thin the frosting out. After about 5-6 tablespoons, the consistency was great and I still had some frosting leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States