Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This made enough for 2 cakes. Perhaps it would of been thicker if i'd used less then the 2 tbs, but as for the taste, I'm not overly impressed. It was rather ordinary. I could of made a similar version without the butter and it would of tasted the same. I guess I was looking for something "more".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Amazing, best chocolate frosting EVER. I did make a few small changes to suit my purposes. I used 4 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream instead of 2 tablespoons milk (for "fluffiness") and added an extra 1 1/2 Tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa. I'll be using this recipe as my go-to chocolate frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is a very good recipe. Easy, rich and lots of chocolate flavor. Great on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Really great recipe. I wouldn't use as much sugar as the recipe calls for, I'd use about 2 and a half cups instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this frosting (alongside some cream cheese vanilla frosting) to use on a yellow cake (Four Egg Yello Cake from thsi site) for my daughter's birthday decorated as Diego (from Go, Diego, Go). It had a very nice, buttery flavor. Much nicer than what you can buy premade, which always has that artificial additive taste. It also had a dark, rich chocolate color (which works well for brown hair!) But I had to add an additional 1 1/2 Tbsp. of milk to make it smooth and thin enough to spread on a cake. I also had to work quickly to frost as it seemed to want to dry out fairly quickly (at one point, I had to add a drop of milk and remix it to smooth it out again). I also made sure to alternately add the milk and powdered sugar to the chocolate mixture, and just mixed it in the pan (heat turned off). There was a moment I thought it wouldn't turn out when the frosting seemed to almost curdle, but I added more milk and mixed like crazy and it smoothed out. Oddly enough, it didn't easily stick to my cake like my cream cheese frosting did. But the flavor more than compensated for the higher difficulty of using it. I would use this again, but with the alterations I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This turned out great, I'd make this again but not for a cake needing a light fluffy whipped airy delicate frosting, as this isn't it. Nice chocolate flavor, this is a great buttercream frosting, but like I said, it is best paired with a denser cake like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I thought this frosting recipe was fabulous, and I will totally be using it again. I also cut the sugar down to 3 cups (based on other reviewers' opinions) and I added it gradually, so that it was easier to blend. I also added the milk as I was blending the frosting in, rather than at the end. It made for an easier experience. Don't forget that if it's too thick for you, you can ALWAYS add more milk til it's where you want it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I had the same problem with this frosting as most of the other reviewers - it was very tasty, but very crumbly. The my husband took over and kept slowly adding milk while blending with a hand blender until the desired consistency. It really made the cake, I think. Super tasty and buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Yes, this frosting was very good. It had a fudgy - thick texture that tasted delicious with chocolate cake. My only complaints was that it was so heavy that it looked "gloppy" and made my cake fall apart, and had a bit too much of a powdered sugar taste. That being said, I would make this again and experiment with the amount of milk & sugar, because it was very tasty. My cake looked awful, but everyone loved the rich taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very easy to make with ingredients on hand. Good for a quick fix in an emergency. Not my favorite. Tasted more like sugar than chocolate. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States