Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was okay. My family liked it, but I personally found the taste of the powdered sugar overwhelming. I wouldn't call it "fudgey" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful and fudgy. I followed the directions exactly and this is the best chocolate frosting I've ever had. I make cakes professionally and got a lot of compliments on this recipe. It was easy to work with and was not gooey at all. The trick is to add the milk a teaspoon at a time like the directions say. THE BEST recipe on the internet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe was the best chocolate frosting recipe on this website...you just need 2 add some more confectionars sugar... about half a cup more... i never made chocolate frosting before and this was THE BEST SO FAR... --ShayShay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
THIS IS IT!!!!!! This tastes really REALLY good!!!The only thing was I didn't use the full 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar. I kept pouring a little at a time and mixing it with just a 1/2 tablespoon and got the constistency that I wanted.So I'd say I used only about 2 to 2 1/2 cups. It's really tasty :):):) I'll be using this frosting for all my recipes that call for chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My husband loves Graham crackers and chocolate frosting so I grabbed this recipe one night. It was quick and easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaLu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
i used this frosting to frost a layer cake. i just had to add a few extra tablespoons of milk and i really didnt have very much trouble spreading it. it was a very pretty frosting and easy to make. I didnt like the flavor very much. The sugar and the cocoa didnt seem to mix well and it just tasted like sweetened cocoa powder... i used a mixer on it for quite a while but it always seemed gritty. maybe i did something wrong but it didnt taste or feel like frosting should. after sitting out for only a little while - like even while i was frosting my cake- the icing hardened. it definitely didnt keep long sitting out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I was extremely skeptical while beating the ingredients together, it looked like chocolate breadcrumbs, however, I did end up using 4 tablespoons of milk instead of 2, with 2 tablespoons it looked like chocolate dough but with 4 it was perfect creamy consistency. It's a VERY sweet frosting, I even used 3 cups instead of 3 1/2. Very good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is SOOOOO yummy! I made my mother a cake for her 60th birthday and used tried this frosting. Despite what a few reviewers have said, it worked great for a layered cake for me. Just frost the cake while it is still warm. It does turn thicker, but it is amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yum! This was SO easy to make! I'll be using this recipe for my chocolate frosting needs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This made enough for 2 cakes. Perhaps it would of been thicker if i'd used less then the 2 tbs, but as for the taste, I'm not overly impressed. It was rather ordinary. I could of made a similar version without the butter and it would of tasted the same. I guess I was looking for something "more".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States