Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
1 Tablespoon of vanilla overpowered the chocolate flavor. Next time will try 1 teaspoon and see. Could have been a typo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
amazing i made cake and frosting from this website for my dads birthday and he loved it and he usually hates chocolate frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
All it tastes like is sugar. Plus, it came out way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Way too many dry ingredients. Had to keep adding milk to soak up all of the sugar. Taste was okay but I will keep looking for chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I think this frosting had an amazing flavor, and it's very basic and versatile. I used it to frost a chocolate sheet cake, and it was great. Like a lot of other reviewers, I did have to add more milk to give a more smooth consistency so it would be easier to work with and not crumble my cake. Don't be afraid to use this, no matter what you're baking. This frosting can easily be adjusted to your purpose be it a layer cake or brownies, just add the milk and sugar gradually until you have the desired texture. Achieving it is not hard, and you can always let it chill, which helped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Super delicious, as other reviewers have said not quite as chocolatey as some might like, but still really nice on top of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candles430
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Very sweet even though I cut down to 3 cups of sugar... My hubby loved it but it was a bit too sweet for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
No problem icing cake, but I've always used the technique of dropping spoonfuls all over the cake and then smoothing it over, so I'm always ensured that there is enough icing. We all loved it. We had it on banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time today to frost my husband's birthday cake. It was simple to make. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and just softened the butter and mixed all the ingredients together. Since I put the cake on a platter I needed more frosting to cover the sides. I just adjusted the serving amount and I had the right amount to cover very well. Everyone loved the taste! Very chocolatey and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Extremely rich, but very good! I ended up using 3 tablespoons of milk. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States