Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This very fudgy frosting tastes great, but do NOT attempt to frost a layer cake with it. It is much too stiff to work with. Heated, it can be poured and spread. It would be ideal for brownies or a bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I did mine a little differently - instead of melting the butter, I let it get really soft on the counter. Then added all the ingredients into a mixing bowl and beat it until it was very fluffy. Very light and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
this is a great frosting! it was a little scary when i added the cocoa mixture, it ended up like little peas, until I added the milk, it frosted a 13x9 cake wonderfully! I cut the powder suger down to 3 cups, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I thought this frosting recipe was fabulous, and I will totally be using it again. I also cut the sugar down to 3 cups (based on other reviewers' opinions) and I added it gradually, so that it was easier to blend. I also added the milk as I was blending the frosting in, rather than at the end. It made for an easier experience. Don't forget that if it's too thick for you, you can ALWAYS add more milk til it's where you want it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Great and fudgy...I added 1 1/2 Tbsp.s of brewed coffee for an even richer fudge flavor. Put it on a yellow cake and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I think I would prefer using this frosting on brownies or maybe cupcakes. First off, it tastes like heaven. It's almost like eating fudge, flavor-wise. The only thing I ran into was that it wasn't enough to frost a two layer cake (I didn't use it for filling or topping, just along the edge of the top and on the sides) and I put a smidge too much milk in, so it kind of wept off the sides a little. No one complained though, and the cake was almost gone when I left. I used it with One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
used whipped cream instead of milk, turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
THIS IS IT!!!!!! This tastes really REALLY good!!!The only thing was I didn't use the full 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar. I kept pouring a little at a time and mixing it with just a 1/2 tablespoon and got the constistency that I wanted.So I'd say I used only about 2 to 2 1/2 cups. It's really tasty :):):) I'll be using this frosting for all my recipes that call for chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
By the time I was done playing around with this to get it to the texture and consistency I wanted, it was very good. But I would have much preferred a more reliable recipe that didn't require so much tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by agadoelleon
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as the directions said. It turned out perfect for a 2 layer 9" cake. It was not too thick or thin and it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States