Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I just realized that I was supposed to do the mixing in the saucepan on the stove! I didn't do that - I microwaved the butter and then mixed it all in a bowl. And it's really good, except it's a bit too vanilla-flavoured. I used a hair under a tablespoon (ran out) but would probably use 2 tsp next time and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
awesome!!! You could use half the butter and a little more milk to make a little healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmesan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I really didn't get the flavor of this frosting. Mine tasted so strongly of vanilla. I would recommend using less. I ended up adding some melted chocolate to mask the vanilla flavor. The consistency was great, with the addition of extra milk, and it spread easily. But maybe start with a tsp. of vanilla, and add to taste before putting in the whole TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
loved flavor and shiny appearance of this frosting! Added a bit more milk and poured on bundt cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Used 3 cups of powdered sugar and about a small amount more of cocoa then it calls for. Also added about 1 T of freshly brewed coffee. Very good on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemom
Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I had to use more milk...and I used whipping cream instead of the milk for an even creamier taste! Oh, and I only used 1.5 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
awesome and easy I just put it all in the food processor and it came out really nice and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This frosting is exceptionally good; it tastes just like old-fashioned fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. This frosting is wonderful! I followed the directions exactly by adding the milk 1 tsp at a time and mixing after each. At first I thought I had done something wrong however by the time I added the 5th tsp of milk the recipe finally started turning into a frosting consistency. My other suggestion is to use a deep bowl. Mixing the p. sugar and cocoa mixture together is messy if using a mixer. The flavor is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
3 words... quick, easy, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States