Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Good recipe. I had to use more water and icing sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
4.5 stars actually. 5 for ease, 4 for taste.Very simple to make but a bit bitter for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLEAMARKETADICT

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I use this recipe for everything. It is my favorite chocolate frosting, I do not change ANYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnadellocibo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe did not work out very well for me. I don't think anyone else really liked it either. The consistency was a little difficult to work with. It piped well but did not spread well at all. I can not put my finger on what seems wrong, it could just be my error since others seem to like it, but I followed the directions exactly. I hope everyone else has better luck with this one than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
A great frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Yum! I doubled this recipe and it was just barely enough to frost a 2-layer cake. It has a nice rich chocolate flavor without being overly sweet and sticky like store-bought frosting. I creamed the butter at room temp but after adding the cocoa, sugar, salt and water (and a little vanilla) it was a little too soft to spread properly so I refridged it for about 15 mins. It set up perfectly and was easy to spread on my chocolate cake. Absolutely delicious on "Sandy's Chocolate Cake" recipe on this site. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
DELICIOUS!!!! I used Vegan Butter (my son is allergic to milk) and instead of water I used cold Rice Milk and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe came out quite rich and thick, so, as the directions said, I added another 1-2 Tablespoons of boiling water. To tone down the rich cocoa flavor, I added about 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, then for creaminess I added about 2 Tablespoons of butter flavored shortening. It turned out great! It was still a little runny, but not watery or thick, and the cocoa wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommakg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Pretty tasty. I was actually out of coco powder, so I used hot chocolate mix instead. It was obviously sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent fudgy-chocolate flavor and it makes enough to generously frost 12 cupcakes. I didn't rate it 5 stars only because I had some issues with the texture initially--the frosting seemed thick, yet almost oily (I started with with room temp. butter, not sure if that was an issue or not) and it would not smooth out no matter how much I beat it. I added about 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 Tbsp. of milk and it smoothed out the texture and consistency almost magically. I will probably use milk in place of the water in future batches. I received many compliments on this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States