Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My ONLY contention with this recipe is that you definitely have to double it in order to frost 24 cupcakes, I think the original proportions are off. However, with that said, this might be the best chocolate frosting I have EVER had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dewdrops
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
If you looking for a very chocolate tasting frosting then you found it. No complaints about this frosting from anyone who ate it. I doubled the recipe to frost about 18 cupcakes and added a little extra sugar to make it a little more thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dewdrops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is the best chocolate frosting. It's not too sweet, so if you like sweet, look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Good recipe. I had to use more water and icing sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
4.5 stars actually. 5 for ease, 4 for taste.Very simple to make but a bit bitter for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLEAMARKETADICT

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I use this recipe for everything. It is my favorite chocolate frosting, I do not change ANYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnadellocibo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe did not work out very well for me. I don't think anyone else really liked it either. The consistency was a little difficult to work with. It piped well but did not spread well at all. I can not put my finger on what seems wrong, it could just be my error since others seem to like it, but I followed the directions exactly. I hope everyone else has better luck with this one than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
A great frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Yum! I doubled this recipe and it was just barely enough to frost a 2-layer cake. It has a nice rich chocolate flavor without being overly sweet and sticky like store-bought frosting. I creamed the butter at room temp but after adding the cocoa, sugar, salt and water (and a little vanilla) it was a little too soft to spread properly so I refridged it for about 15 mins. It set up perfectly and was easy to spread on my chocolate cake. Absolutely delicious on "Sandy's Chocolate Cake" recipe on this site. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
DELICIOUS!!!! I used Vegan Butter (my son is allergic to milk) and instead of water I used cold Rice Milk and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States