Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My signature cake is usually devil's food with buttercream frosting so when my father-in-law requested chocolate frosting I needed a recipe. This is it!! I LOVE this chocolate frosting. It was quick and easy to make and it is delicious!! This will be my go-to chocolate frosting from now on. Also, I needed it to be lactose-free so I substituted Organic Smart Balance for butter and the results were fantastic. I also added 2 tsp vanilla just b/c I love the vanilla flavor. I did have to double the recipe (might need to triple it next time as it is so good!). Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This frosting is very sweet, but yummy. It is similar to the frosting used for Texas Sheet Cake, but wthout the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
the perfect super chocolately frosting you will always have the ingredients on hand to make! I topped my yellow cake mix. I should have doubled the recipe for my 13x9 pan to give a generous spread, but this will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is a good stable frosting, but I used melted chips in place of the cocoa and it made it a bit more fudge-like. It pipes really easily then stiffens into a fudge texture. A big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This recipe is very good but it isnt as sweet as i thought it would it be. If you are going to make a cake make sure you double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcela09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
What a delicious recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Tasted good, but there is no way that you would be able to frost a cake with this. You have to double to triple batch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Good frosting, I did add a little Grand Marnier (2 tablespoons) to make this frosting special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
It was great!!!! I just added my own little touch...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Waterville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My ONLY contention with this recipe is that you definitely have to double it in order to frost 24 cupcakes, I think the original proportions are off. However, with that said, this might be the best chocolate frosting I have EVER had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States