Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
It tasted really good, but I needed to add more icing sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing, my first time making frosting turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I love the deep chocolate taste that the cocoa gives to this recipe. I made a change for my own taste and that was to add 2 tblsps of heavy cream and only 1 tblsp. Of boiling water. It gave it more of a milk chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Greene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This turned out a little grainy for me, but it was still very good and easy to make. It was wonderful spread on the peanut butter brownies I had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
OMG this frosting was so easy and good. I used butter flavored shortening and I would definitely recommend this frosting. I would double it for regular cakes though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have never made icing from scratch and was a bit timid. Then I see that you need milk in all of them and we are all out of it. But here I see this recipe that looks easy as pie with few ingredients. I am impressed. Even my daughter upon tasting it was like " mmmm Mommy this is yummy. You are the bestest cook!" Ahhh 6 year olds make you feel awesome, but this recipe rocked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Loved it as is, with only adding a bit of vanilla...I use this on the one bowl chocolate cake on here and its one of my families favorites! LOVE thanks for sharing :) Chrissie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie
Living In: Keithville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I chose this recipe because I was using the frosting in a "birthday cake" ice cream I was making. Once refrigerated and blended with the vanilla ice cream and pieces of yellow cake, it was absolutely prefect. I really liked the consistency and would definitely use it on cakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I liked this recipe quite a bit. I put it on the magic chocolate cake recipe on this site for a double chocolate cake. It was simple, but it barely covered my 9x11 cake, so double the recipe if you want thick frosting or a double layer cake. It is rich and chocolately. The reviews that called it grainy either didn't cream the butter or didn't use hot water - it helps to dissolve the sugar and cocoa and combine the ingredients together. Mine was creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessybaker76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious! The origanal recipe was a bit to bitter and thick for me, so I went and added 1 Tablespoon extra water. But still, too bitter. So I took out some milk and added 1 1/2 tablespoons. In the end it was perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States