Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was way too strong on the cocoa powder and it was bittersweet as written. I had to add another cup of powdered sugar to tone it down. But then I had to add another 2 T of butter (I used salted) and another T of water. This turned out very rich and very creamy in the end, but that was after my changes. This is a frosting with a lot of body, dense, and filling. I tried to whip it to get it light and fluffy but it wouldn't. It is good though, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
first frosting recipe, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was the best chocolate frosting I've ever had! I was enough to frost to whole cake. I will definitely make this again and it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was good, but the flavor was sharp instead of smooth. I added about 1/4 c. of heavy cream and that helped take the bite out of the chocolate. Next time I will try making this with milk chocolate and I think that will help a great deal. It does have a terrific consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I thought this chocolate frosting was incredible! I was looking for a frosting with very few staple ingredients because I didn't have much in the house. This was perfect and it tasted great! I don't think I need to look for another frosting recipe even when I do have more ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
EXCELLENT. I put it on brownies and it was perfect. I've made many choc. frosting but this is by far the best. It doesn't make that much, but this is the only choc. frosting I'll ever make. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by bee
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I chose this recipe because I was out of milk. I can't say I was expecting it to be very good but luckily I was wrong and it is actually a really good and simple recipe. The only change I make was adding a little vanilla and a sprinkle of brown sugar to the mix to give it a little more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This frosting is so easy and tastes great! It whips up so light and fluffy using the whip attachment on the mixer. It isn't too sweet and complements any cake. Try it, I think you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was the best frosting I have ever made.Most of the other recipes I have used turn out like a glaze,but this frosting had the perfect amount of thickness.It was absoloutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
changed the recipe to 5 tbsp. of butter and 1 1/3 cup of sugar. try it on brownies it's incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States