Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I used boiling milk as suggested by another reviewer and also added 1 1/2 tsp. Benedictine brandy. As I was frosting Banana Cocoa Bars found elsewhere on Allrecipes I found the amount to be just enough, but if I were using the recipe for a layer cake it would definitely not be enough. I really liked the dark chocolate taste, though and thought it complemented the bars nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This frosting was very yummy!!! The taste deserves a five but overall it earns a four. The frosting was very pretty and glossy but it took a while to get it to the right consistency. It took way more sugar than called for to make it perfect. I also added just a little bit of vanilla flavoring. Very yummy with chocolate cupcakes. I will never buy frosting from the store again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very good, but very dark! adding 1 1/4 tsp heavy cream made it super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
easy and delicious. i used milk in place of the boiling water. loved this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I really dont like this recipe!!!! There wasnt even enough. It just went into big clumps of all the ingredients! I dont like this AT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
very, very good! I used Ghiradelli sweet ground chocolate and was worried that it would be too sweet, but I ended up using the full amount of powdered sugar and it was fantastic...I imagine it might not be sweet enough if using unsweetened cocoa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This stuff is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very tasty! I would double the recipe next time, though. It was really a stretch to get the whole cake covered. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Needed frosting in a pinch - and didn't have time to run out. Discovered I had everything on hand, and whipped out the Kitchen Aid mixer. Fabulous recipe!! Creamy, chocolaty, and sweet! So easy to make, I couldn't believe it. Tasted better than premade frosting - didn't have that "plasticky" smell or taste. Will be making my own frosting from now on - think about adding different extracts for new flavors. This should be a staple in everyone's recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I absolutely love this frosting, it goes great on chocolate cake with white frosting all over and this around mainly for decoration, but all in all I LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States