Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This stuff is delicious! As others said, it's not very sweet as the recipe is written. I would have actually liked it like that for some things, but I was trying to sweeten up some brownies, so I added more sugar. This makes an excellent glaze if you add a little more water than the recipe calls for. Very tasty and very versatile...and I love that it doesn't use milk, since I don't keep it in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Yummy...and sooo easy. I will never buy store bought frosting again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe can be played with to get it right but as written this is a myriad of adjectives - gooey, grainy and greasy among them, and none of them what you want in a frosting. What a shame, because it tasted great, almost like fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
as in other reviews, consistency is the main factor here. well worth playing with to get right though-- best chocolate frosting ever and SO spreadable! i too used way more sugar than called for to get nice and creamy. careful with your water too--- a little goes a long way here. i like 2 9" rounds, modified the servings to 36 and it yields plenty for the center and top/sides of a double layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This chocolate frosting is the best I have ever tasted. It taste like Hershey chocolate. I will recommend to all of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is the first frosting recipe I have found that actually gets the consistency I look for. Like others, I added in vanilla. It tastes amazing. However, I gave it four stars for one reason. I made the frosting exactly like the recipe and it turned out perfect, but there wasn't enough. So I set out to make another batch. The second batch was made exactly the same as the first batch, except this time I had to add DOUBLE the powdered sugar to get the right consistency. No clue why one batch needed 1 1/2 C and one batch needed 3C. They taste the same and look the same. So, four stars for inconsistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made devil's food cupcakes with this frosting on top... yummmmm! The only thing I changed was that I used margarine instead of real butter, and I added a tsp. of vanilla extract. It came out fine, tastes great, and because there is no butter, it will not spoil if left out at room temperature for a while...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
just what I was looking for!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toppenish, Washington, USA
Living In: Selah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My signature cake is usually devil's food with buttercream frosting so when my father-in-law requested chocolate frosting I needed a recipe. This is it!! I LOVE this chocolate frosting. It was quick and easy to make and it is delicious!! This will be my go-to chocolate frosting from now on. Also, I needed it to be lactose-free so I substituted Organic Smart Balance for butter and the results were fantastic. I also added 2 tsp vanilla just b/c I love the vanilla flavor. I did have to double the recipe (might need to triple it next time as it is so good!). Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This frosting is very sweet, but yummy. It is similar to the frosting used for Texas Sheet Cake, but wthout the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States