Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I knew when I read the ingredients this was the recipe for me. Frosting does not have to be sickening sweet to be good. My kids loved it on a basic yellow cake (from scratch of course)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This recipe was absolutely phenomenal. I was making a cake for my best friend's birthday and it was kind of late at night and I had no icing. So I looked on here for something easy with few ingredients, and I found this. So happy that I did. I must point out, however, that it is VERY import to use real stick butter. The second time I made it with my boyfriend, it was watery because I used tub margarine. Also, this afternoon I used the recipe to make truffles. I decreased the amount of water to about 2 tbs. rather than 3, and didn't use the full 1 1/2 cup of powder sugar. The mix was thicker so I made drops and put them on wax paper on a pan in the freezer, and after an hour they were perfect. Sprinkle with cocoa powder and powdered sugar. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Oh my gosh! This recipe is so good! I used it for a grooms cake and got rave reviews. You need to double it to cover a 2 layer 8-inch round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This might be good for cookies and such, but not for cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I loved how easy this frosting was. I used it on brownies and would say the flavor was decent, nothing too exciting. But you figure when something is that easy how extravagant can it taste? I'll probably use this for "around the house" but if baking for others I would opt for something more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I chose this frosting recipe because I was out of vanilla of all things. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of butter and it still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa Moorman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This wasn't at all what I was looking for-- it was a thick chocolate mess almost like ganache but not as smooth or sweet. I had to add twice as much sugar, a tablespoon of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla to make it usable. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because I'm sure there are other people who are looking for a very unsweet, straight chocolate icing. I just made a bad recipe choice based on the simple ingredient list and directions. (I was looking for "vanilla-chocolate powdered sugar frosting", which I HIGHLY recommend) I MIGHT use this one SPARINGLY (spread thinly) either between cookie sandwiches or on top of them but never on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
The frosting has a Great texture. It has a good Chocolately taste that isn't overwhelming! It complimented the cake I made well. I made a 9x9 Cherry chocolate cake and 1 batch made enough to cover the whole thing. Any bigger and you would have to double it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ann, Michigan, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
An excellent buttercream. I cut some of the sugar, and used whole milk vanilla yogurt in place of the water until the desired texture and taste was achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a really great frosting recipe. I've been trying to find this recipe again for forever! This is definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States