Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made it tonight at the last minuet for my coconut cupcakes came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I love this frosting. It's easy, ingredients are usually on hand, and it tastes great. So home made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe was so easy... I did have to add a tablespoon more butter, more sugar and water to make just a tad more for the the wacky cake..This will be my go to recipe when I'm in a pinch for a delicious dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Robertson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe w the following adjustments: use 2-2/2 cups of sugar, add a cap of vanilla. Also note: this icing sets up fast and is roughly the equivalent of a can of store ought frosting, so I would double or triple the recipe. If you don't, by the time you mix up the next batch, what you have already spread on the cake will be set. That being said, it's great for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
love this. i did not hand enough confectioner sugar for a different recipe so i found this one. it needed a lot more evaporated milk than in the recipe, but other than that, the recipe is flawless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was looking for a frosting recipe that didn't use milk. This was easy to make and tasted fantastic. I used the dark chocolate powder. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I did not like this frosting. It was very bitter and dark. I had to adjust it a lot just to be able to use it. If you like that kind of stuff, I understand, but that was definitely not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
yummtastic! i used this recipe to frost my brownies and it really complemented the brownies! will be using this again. thanks, K!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
The trick to this recipe is to mix it well with an electric mixer. The more I mixed it (high speed) the silkier the frosting became. It is a little bitter but works perfect for an already sweet chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Had to add an extra tablespoon of water, but perfect! Chocolate-y and thick and delicous. I also added some nutmeg and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States